Book Launch

Although it is still a few months away I am going to mention that a time and place has just been set for the book launch. It’s to be held on October 25 at the community centre in East Dalhousie. Although there were other suggestions made, suggestions I was most grateful for, because let’s face it had I not been able to have it in the community I would have been looking for an alternative, the community centre in good old E. Dalhousie was my first choice.

Might I add  that I’m very pleased to be having the launch here because I happen to live in a pretty awesome little community. The people here have been extremely supportive of my work over the years and that support has meant so much. (Likely more than many of them even realize.)  As I told my publisher, I really couldn’t imagine having it any other place. Not only is the Dalhousie Road the setting for “Bitter, Sweet”—a fictitious Dalhousie Road of sixty years ago—but many of my family and friends live here, as well. It is the first time an event of this sort has been held in the community and, who knows, it may never happen again. So there you have it! I’m happy, my publisher’s happy, hopefully the good folks in the community will be happy with the news as well.

At this point I really have no expectations about the launch, for me it will be wonderful to celebrate the release of my very first novel right here in the community I’ve lived in my entire life.

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Smelanie

     /  July 13, 2009

    Woo hoo!!!!

    Reply
  2. Congratulations! Wonderful, you have your book up – what a nice cover. October 25th will be here before you know it- enjoy this!

    Reply
  3. I love the cover! For me it really captures that time and place and yes, time is closing in.

    Reply
  4. How exciting. I do hope the book is released in the U.S. This looks like a good read. And I love the cover.

    Reply
    • Thanks Tricia for your comment and there is a possiblity that it will be released in the US next year.

      Reply
  5. Yes, there is something about Canadian lit isn’t there?

    Reply
  6. Congratulations! This is so great – how wonderful :) I’m with everyone else who loves the cover and hopes it will be released here in the US!

    Reply
    • Thanks for your comment. When my editor sent me the cover to show me what they had in mind and in what direction they were going I hesitated for a few moments before opening the attachment. I was surprised at what an emotional time that was for me. I feel in love with colours immediately and it really fits the book well.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 152 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • my novels

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 59,488 hits
  • Add me

    Facebook Buttons By ButtonsHut.com

