Out go the Lights

We lost power around a quarter to one today. No surprises there. I guess some days though it pays to have a sense of humour. When I phoned the NS Power Outages hot line, I was promptly told by a pre-recorded voice that they were aware of the power outage in my area. Great! The voice then proceeded to tell me that the estimated time of restoration was 11:30 PM on August 24th. August 24th! Did I hear that correctly? Yup, August 24th at 11:30— so something like 36 hours give or take a few– that was their best guess as to when the power would be restored.

Okay so I’m an old pro at this. Hey, even I could have made a better prediction than that. The truth is these past years we are almost certain to have an outage if there is any wind involved whatsoever. We’ve not had good service, people.  Anyway, luckily it came back around 5:30 this evening, a far cry from the 36 hours originally predicted but believe me I’m NOT complaining in any way, shape or form. So, I did whip out my pen and paper and I made some notes for a new story I’m working at.  I guess every cloud has its silver lining. Right?

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. I’m jealous of your storm. I love a good storm. Where I live the weather is boring: sunny all summer, foggy all winter. If we’re lucky, we’ll get an inch of rain in January.

    Reply
    • Hey Tricia, come on up to Nova Scotia around December I’m sure we can scare up a nice snow storm just for you. We do seem to get our fair share of storms, our weather is anything but boring!!

      Reply
  2. rachelhestondavis

     /  August 24, 2009

    I always thought power outages were fun when I was a kid! If it happened at night we’d get out candles and play board games in the darkened living room. There was always the hope that the power would stay out all over town so school would be cancelled the next day.

    That never happened. :(

    Rachel

    Reply
    • We seem to have more power outages these days then we ever did as kids. Just send us a big wind and we’ll loose our power. It’s not so bad during the summer but it can get pretty chilly in the winter. Come to think of it we never missed school because of a power outage either. Hmmm.

      Reply
  3. donthangupthequill

     /  August 24, 2009

    Oy, hurricanes. I’m glad you got your power back way sooner than expected. Stay dry!

    -Gayle

    Reply
  4. We have them all the time – power outages that is. That is what we get for living in an older area, but I wouldnèt change the trees for anything!

    Glad to hear you are writing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 154 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • my novels

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 59,907 hits
  • Add me

    Facebook Buttons By ButtonsHut.com

