Not Again!

Okay, so I’m all for practical jokes. I’ve even been known to pull off a few from time to time. But when I awoke at four in the morning to discover that we were in the middle of yet another power outage I wasn’t laughing. I made my way downstairs (luckily we keep a flashlight on the nightstand at all times for just this reason) and called the power outage line expecting to be told that the power wouldn’t be back on until the next day or some such foolish thing. But to my surprise the voices was promising me it would be on at 5 am. Great, just the time I have to get up to get ready for work! That I could handle.

I said a silent “Thank you” to the Universe and crawled back in bed for another hour of sleep. I guess I’m a bit naive because for some reason I chose to believe that anonymous voice on the phone instead of trusting my gut feeling. Nova Scotia Power how many times have you let me down over the years? Low and behold when the alarm went off at five we were still in the dark. What a fool I felt like for believing.

So we’re old pros at this. We’ve got plenty of lights, a small propane burner for cooking and heating water, plenty of water for flushing toilet, washing and drinking because we know enough to be prepared at all times. My husband said it no different then camping until I pointed out to him that we don’t go camping.

I left the house at six (I actually couldn’t wait to get out of there) and I have no idea when the power came back on and frankly I don’t care. So there….I’ve moaned and complained enough! Now all I can do is send Nova Scotia Power some positive vibes ( I would say love but that would be stretching it.) Oh and the reason for this latest outage— apparently it was caused by downed trees, no doubt from the same gentle breeze that blew in my bedroom window all night. Give me a break!

So this evening I’m going to continue revising another young adult novel I wrote awhile back and hopefully this time I’ll have the power to do it!!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Isn’t nuts how life always gets in the way??

    I hope you had electricity to work!

    Reply
  2. rachelhestondavis

     /  August 29, 2009

    Good heavens! I really think I would go crazy if my power was that unreliable. *sigh* I hope it got fixed!

    Rachel

    Reply
    • Everything was back to normal when I got home, Rachel. It’s easy to take those things for granted. Isn’t it?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 153 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • my novels

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 60,310 hits
  • Add me

    Facebook Buttons By ButtonsHut.com

