Upcoming Anthology

A few years back I had a piece chosen for publication in an anthology about rural living– actually about growing up in a rural area. I was pretty excited about it and wasn’t even sure at the time if I had anything worth writing about since I had this idea in my head that I was a fiction writer and that writing non-fiction was something I’d never be able to do and do well. Something urged me to try and to my shock and surprise mine was one of the pieces chosen. I worked with the editor on the piece, sent in a photo, filled out a questionnaire with information and she wrote a bio. Everything was set to go. We even had a publisher willing to take on the project; payments were sent out to all the contributors, contracts signed, all that technical stuff. There was nothing to do but wait for the publishing date to arrive which we were told would be last fall.

But when fall came the publication date was pushed to the spring. No problem this was still within the contract agreement. Then last winter I received a letter from the editor telling me that for a number of reasons which I won’t go into here, the anthology had been cancelled and she was left looking for another publisher. I can’t imagine all the work this editor put into the book– working with over thirty contributors–only to have this happen. I was disappointed of course but I’ve had similar things happen in the past. I knew getting upset about it wouldn’t help and to be perfectly honest I still had hopes for this anthology. There are some great Canadian names included in the anthology such as George Fox, Pamela Wallen, Preston Manning, Brett Sutter, to name a few.

This Friday I received some great news from the editor. The anthology has been accepted by another publisher and as soon as the contract is signed she’ll make an official announcement!! Woohoo!! I’m quite tickled about this. We have all been waiting a long time for this anthology.

So there’s my big news. When it’s all official I’ll let everyone know who the publisher is and when it will be coming out. Hopefully it won’t be a terribly long wait. After all it’s ready for publication. My thoughts are perhaps spring but we shall see!!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. This is wonderful news! How exciting – first “Bitter, Sweet,” and now this anthology! What a fun few months you have ahead!

    Reply
  2. Elizabeth Lewis

     /  August 31, 2009

    Wonderful news Laura! I love anthologies, and having one based around rural living sounds like a marvelous idea. You’re a gifted writer so the leap from one genre to the next is no doubt just a shuffle for you.

    Reply
  3. donthangupthequill

     /  September 2, 2009

    Laura, that’s great! I’m crossing my fingers that this works out well for you.

    -Gayle

    Reply
  4. Great news! When it rains it pours!

    Reply
    • This one has been a long time coming, Jennifer. Just the way things work out some times. It really pays to have patience.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 154 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • my novels

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 59,926 hits
  • Add me

    Facebook Buttons By ButtonsHut.com

