Moving right along……

The layout file for Bitter, Sweet arrived earlier this week with a request that I have a list of any errors or changes I want in the text back to them by Friday. Normally that wouldn’t be a big deal— we’re not talking about a full length novel here–but since I work during the day I’ve been a bit pressed for time.

For anyone who hasn’t seen one before, a layout file is basically a pdf file of the book pages, the way they will appear in the book, complete with dedication, acknowledgments, and a whole page of other necessary things like photo credit, the copyright, book cover designer, those sorts of things. Since the printing on the layout file is so large I found it much easier to read and to find little errors that didn’t get picked up before.

Our brains are a curious thing for we tend to see what we think is there instead of what is actually there. Proofreading my novel several times made this all too clear. Of course this was the first time I actually read it word for word, out loud, to make sure everything was in its place. Hope we (my editor will be giving it a final look through as well) didn’t miss anything but I can list a good many books where I found mistakes and I must say I was pretty forgiving. Hopefully if we’ve missed something my readers will also be forgiving.

Also today, the final cover (front and back) came for my approval. Sure looked strange seeing my face on the back cover. I really like the synopsis they put together, I feel as though it really captures the essence of the book

Guess it’s all coming together now. Sometimes I have to pinch myself to make sure it’s not a dream.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. How exciting. I love reading about your journey.

    Reply
  2. Congratulations! I was in Chicago (I live in Florida) when my proofs came out & a mistake slipped through the cracks (totally my fault). It made me nuts at first but I’ve recovered & no one has pointed it out. I also write for kids, I’m cyber-friends with Careann & one side of my family is from Nova Scotia (Joggins & Springhill). Good luck with your book. The cover looks great BTW.

    Reply
    • Thanks for the good wishes. I was surprised when the proofs came at a few of the mistakes I caught but hopefully I caught them all and my editor will be running through it once more. Nice to hear you have family in Nova Scotia. I’ve never been to Joggins but it’s on my list of places to see—lots of fossils which sounds pretty cool.

      Laura

      Reply
  3. OH wow! This is so exiting! I am bouncing in my chair for you!!

    Yes, yes, do find those mistakes! I admit, I am never so forgiving, and I always hope that my own novel will not be riddled with them. Good luck!

    Reply
  4. I couldn’t resist, and I did a search for Bitter, Sweet on amazon.ca

    have you seen it there as an upcoming release? I am sure you have! Looks great! Good synopsis. I will order, or can I pick it up at Chapters?

    Reply
    • Don’t worry I’ve already searched for it.. Hehehe

      Kind of neat seeing it there. Someone told me the other day that they had already pre-ordered. It’s also on the Chapters site so they will carry it too. I know Nimbus has sales reps across Canada but I’m not sure that all books get in every bookstore. I’m a bit green about some of this. But what better way to find out, Right? oh and BTW the synopsis in the catalogue and on line is not the same as the one on the back of the book. I like the other one much better,

      Reply
  5. Whew, you’re almost there :-) I’ve found errors in several bestsellers so I don’t think the majority of your readership will notice, if any slip through the cracks. I’m very happy your novel is being published and the anthology is moving forward again. Take care!

    Reply
    • Thanks for stopping by, Leah. Today I was debating whether or not I’d read my novel once it’s out in print. That way I won’t know for sure and with any luck my friends won’t point any mistakes out. But I figure I’ll break down the second my copies arrive and start reading. I won’t be able to resist!

      Reply
  6. It sounds very exciting. Like you I’ve found errors and been forgiving.

    Reply
  7. Dear Laura,

    Congratulations! The ball will have to start rolling faster now.

    And cheers on the anthology coming through after all, too.
    :) Ev

    Reply

Leave a Reply

