Fort Point Museum

So what’s at the Fort Point Museum in Lahave you might ask? This was the place Sry Ruus held the book launch for her new novel, Lovesongs Of Emmanuel Taggart. (Breakwater Books)

We didn’t arrive on time. I knew we wouldn’t.  I had made a previous commitment to be someplace else not knowing at the time that the launch was scheduled for that day, so we missed Syr’s reading. We were a bit disappointed but I suppose in some ways we were lucky to be there at all. We left home that afternoon with just a vague idea of where we were headed. Instead of going a route that was familiar to us my husband decided it would be a good time to go the back way and we ended up on the wrong side of the Lahave River with no idea where The Fort Point Museum was. When my husband saw the Lahave Ferry docked he decided this was a good time to stop and ask directions. That was when we learned that the museum was just across the river. Talk about luck! We could actually see the museum from where we were and luckily the ferry was about to take off. It’s just a five minute trip across so we’d knew we’d make it in time.

I hadn’t met Syr before even though she and I both had work in the same Christmas anthology last year and both attended the launch. (That was a busy day with about thirteen of us and nearly impossible to meet all the authors there.) So, we’d never actually met. Still, I wanted to attend her launch because I was excited for her and being a writer myself I feel it’s important to support our local talent.

Syr and her daughter put together a lovely lunch and the cake was decorated exactly like the cover of her book. It was beautiful. Of course they couldn’t cut on it. But they had another one there for that purpose. I had a chat with Syr and she signed my book. She seems like such a very nice lady. I wish her all the best with her novel.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. must have given you a taste for what’s coming for you. I have never yet been to a book launch.

    Reply
    • This was the first time I had the opportunity to attend a launch and I’m glad I went, not only to support Syr Ruus but to as you say see what actually takes place.

      Reply
  2. I’ve never been to a book launch, either. I’ve never even been to an author reading. I’ve got so much to learn it it’s ever to be me up there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 149 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • my novels

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 58,644 hits
  • Add me

    Facebook Buttons By ButtonsHut.com

