Not Another Article….

Afraid so folks…

As promised I’m including the link for the Register story. I have to say I’m not positive if this will appear in the Kings County Register or the Kentville advertiser. I enjoyed the article and it certainly helped that she had read the book. I think that’s an added bonus for any author. Not all reporters have the time to do so. I fully understand that.

Just so you’re forewarned the photo is about as bad as I earlier predicted so no one has to try and make me feel good about it besides I’m sure by next week that snapshot will be forgotten. Nothing I can do about it now.Right?

http://www.novanewsnow.com/article-389473-Bitter-Sweet-close-to-home-for-Best.html

I just received a lovely email from a lady who wanted to wish me luck with the book launch and who wanted to tell me she had purchased three copies of “Bitter, Sweet” for Christmas presents. How nice of her to take the time to email! It really gave me a lift… I also received an email the other day from the editor of the literary magazine who published my very first short story about fifteen years ago. Penny had some very encouraging words for me and a bit of advise which was greatly appreciated. Everyone has been so supportive and wonderful I really couldn’t ask for anything more. So if you’re reading this and you’re one of those people you should know that all your kind words and thoughts mean so much to me.

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. You took a fantastic picture. You look open and warm not cold and catty like me. I forgot, my cat gravatar photo is me now. I guess my “catty” joke kind of falls flat.

    I read the reviews and it would be easy to see how the book could get shelved in other sections besides children’s. The description felt adult literary to me. But that’s a good thing. Your novel crosses over to a larger audience.

    Reply
    • Thanks Tricia. I’m sure if I hadn’t been so self-conscious the day I went into the bookstore I would have found it.

      Reply
  2. Hi Laura, what a great review – congratulations!!

    I have to say, that as an adult in her mid-thirties with two kids and another on the way, that since I first read the synopsis of your novel, I have been longing to read it!!

    Will you be selling any copies here, on your blog?

    And for the record, you are way too hard on yourself in regards to the photo – I think it is quite good!

    Congratulations, again.

    Reply
    • Thanks for all your kind words, Jennifer. The book can be ordered from Amazon.ca or Chapters.ca or directly from Nimbus. Nimbus has a tole free number as well.

      Reply
  3. Meg

     /  October 22, 2009

    Salut, from rainy Montreal!
    I am actually a friend of your daughter, Melanie. I look forward to reading your book (I have read some of your short fiction). As a high school English teacher, I think “Bitter, Sweet” has classroom potential! I love focusing on Canadian lit. whenever possible, and as others have suggested, I think this novel will be enjoyed by young and old alike.
    Can I get it in Montreal? Chapters? (I was also thinking of getting multiple copies; one for my 17 year old niece, and another for myself :-)
    Cheers,
    Meg

    Reply
    • Hi Meg,

      It’s always nice to hear from one of Mel’s friends and nice to hear you’ve read some of my short fiction! Not a whole lot of people have!!

      I’m not sure how readily available the book will be across the country but it can definitely be ordered through Amazon or Chapters.

      Reply
  4. Great article and I don’t think the picture is bad at all. Good luck on your book launch.

    Reply
  5. It’s a very favourable article, Laura, and the picture looks just fine to me — as someone has said, you look warm and friendly and approachable, and that’s definitely a plus. Will say a prayer that the launch goes well, and then I’ll be in touch early next week regarding those interview questions.

    Blessings to you.

    Reply
    • Thanks Carol. I must say I’m a tough one to please when it comes to photos, not of others but myself. I’m not fretting over it, there’s no point but thanks for your kind remarks. And having you say a prayer that the launch will go well is SO sweet and SO VERY appreciated..

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 154 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • my novels

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 59,910 hits
  • Add me

    Facebook Buttons By ButtonsHut.com

