Book Bash

On Saturday evening local children’s authors and illustrators writers of children’s book from the area got together at the Writer’s Federation of Nova Scotia to present the books they published in 2009. There was a long list of authors and illustrators presenting their books that evening.

Talk about author overload….I mean that in a very good way.

I’ve been a member of this organization for many years but this is the first time I’d been to the Federation office and the first time I’d met most of these talented writers. When you live out in rural areas it’s not so easy to participate in many of the events offered. It’s not just a matter of jumping into the car and off you go. A two hour drive often makes you think twice, especially during a working week. And to be honest, until Saturday night, I’d never given it much thought. Sometimes situations are the way they are and you just don’t question them.

Earlier that day I’d met Jill MacLean at the book launch for Unlocked. Jill is the author of The Nine Lives of Travis Keating and most recently The Present Tense of Prinny Murphy, two wonderful books for young people. The Nine Lives of Travis Keating won the Ann Conner Brimer Award and The Present Tense of Prinny Murphy has been nominated this year for the same award…Yay Jill!! Imagine my delight when Jill bought a copy of my book that evening for me to sign.

No photos of Noreen Smiley, who is our CANSCAIP rep for Eastern Canada. I introduced myself to Noreen earlier in the day at the book launch, another wonderfully supportive author. I chatted a bit with Kate Inglis (author of The Dread Crew, Nimbus Publishing). Again, no photo. I’ll have to speak to my photographer.!

I’m not ashamed to say, I was like an excited child when Budge Wilson sat beside me. Budge is also an award winning author and another truly talented writer in our area. Of all the writers for children’s book that I ever hope to meet, Budge is up there at the top of my list. She’s simply amazing and the sweetest, most down to earth person you’d ever want to meet.

I’d met Steve Vernon at Word on the Street back in September. Steve’s a great support to local writers and a fellow Nimbus author. Steve has turned his talents from writing ghost stories to include writing for kids with his Maritime Monsters book, proving his versatility as a writer. Way to go, Steve!

The evening was a wonderful celebration, a time for me to meet other authors which is not something I get to do very often. What a great group of people. My only regret was that we had to leave earlier than I would have liked to. That long drive home, you know.

So that was my weekend. Pretty frigging awesome I’d say. I’ll take author overload any day.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. What a weekend you had! It’s wonderful to meet and mingle with others who share your passion for writing, especially when you have publication in common. Here in BC our Federation of BC Writers’ activities are always held in downtown Vancouver and despite living in the general area just east of the city, it takes me 1-1/2 hours to get there, battling traffic, so I rarely go. About once a year we have regional gatherings (one’s coming up this weekend… yay!!) but I feel like I miss out on a lot of writerly events.

    Reply
  2. It was an exciting weekend, Carol and very emotionally charged. For so many years I simply wrote without having met another writer. I can’t describe how wonderful it feels to meet people who truly know and understand what you do. And what a terrific bunch!

    I feel so blessed with everything that has come my since since the publication of my book!

    Reply
  3. Wow, that does look like a great way to spend the weekend. Hopefully you’ll have many lasting contacts out of it.

    Reply
    • It was a wonderful weekend, Helen. I’ve had the opportunity to meet so many wonderfuly people since the book came out. I feel most fortunate.

      Reply
  4. chezjlb

     /  April 19, 2010

    I like your new blog theme. Very spring-like!

    Reply
  5. Sounds like a wonderful time. I’d love to attend something like that meeting. Like you, I live in a very rural area with few opportunities to interact with other writers. Thankfully the internet allows me some contact with people who share my interest in writing.

    Reply
    • Thanks, Carol. As with anything good there are drawn backs. Rural living has it’s advantages but, as you say it leaves little oppotunities for writers to interact with other writers. I never realzed, until I started a blog, just how great is is to have contact with other writers. Saturday evening allowed me the opportunity to meet some really great local writers. I’m so glas I was able to attend.

      Reply
  6. Laura, I am so far behind in posting anywhere since my computer ‘crash’, in which I lost some of my writing and contact info … but oh well. I just want to say that I am SO HAPPY for you that you got to finally meet BUDGE WILSON. Isn’t she wonderful? You are richly blessed.

    Reply
    • Sorry about the computer crash. I did wonder why you hadn’t been posting on your blog.

      Meeting Budge was a big highlight for me and yes, she is simply wonderful. I nearly fell off my seat when she sat beside me. Wow!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 152 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • my novels

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 59,496 hits
  • Add me

    Facebook Buttons By ButtonsHut.com

