The Balance

Today I’ll be attending a third funeral in a little over a week. Death is a part of life. I have to remind myself of that. It helps sometimes, brings comfort when the person who is taken from us lived a long and full life.

Birth. Death. Joy. Sorrow. There is a balance to everything.

This reminder doesn’t always help. Not when a childhood friend is suddenly taken away.

I found myself grieving; not only for this friend, but also for the forgotten childhood memories that came suddenly back to life.

The community I live in is changing with the times. The number of life-long residents is dwindling as our young people go off to live their own lives and our seniors pass away. Fortunately, new people are moving in all the time. Without them the community might one day cease to exist.

To every thing there is a season; a time and a purpose

Previous Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. I’m so sorry for your loss. Trusting that everything is happening according to God’s plan for each of us will help comfort you in times like this.

    Reply
  2. I’m very sorry to hear that you’ve lost a friend. I hope the childhood memories bring you some happiness as well as the chance to grieve.

    Reply
  3. My condolences! We had two memorial services in two days last weekend. Loss is always difficult but it also encourages us to reflect on and appreciate what we once had. You’ve said it well.
    “There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under heaven: a time to be born and a time to die, a time to plant and a time to uproot…” [Ecclesiastes 3:1-2]

    Reply
  4. I grieve for you the loss of your friend.

    You got that song stuck in my head.

    Reply
  5. Thank you all for the kind words. They are appreciated. Some weeks are more trying than others.

    Reply
  6. Oh, Laura, I’m really sorry for your loss.

    Reply
  7. Sorry about the loss of your friend.

    Reply
  8. Judi Hiltz

     /  May 25, 2010

    I believe that memories are all we have at a time like this, and we have to go back in time and dig deep to remember all the good times that were had and hang on for dear life.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 153 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • my novels

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 59,989 hits
  • Add me

    Facebook Buttons By ButtonsHut.com

