Looking Up Through The Trees.

I love lying on the ground looking up through the trees, knowing that there is a whole world out there.

This is something I often did as a child back in the days when I had the time to spend in the process of just being.

It is like that sometimes when I’m writing a story. It feels as though I have only to show up on the page and just be. The words flow freely, the story unfolds and I’m in the middle of it all taking in the view.

So many things we leave behind without even realizing that it is happening until something ignites a spark within us.  Old memories float to the surface, those sweet moments from our youth, and we then find ourselves once again in the process of just being.

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. I’m relating. This week I’ve been searching church records for my great-grandparents. I feel like a child wandering through a family picnic, finding all sorts of fascinating treasures. Thanks, Laura.

    Reply
    • It must be fascinating, Joylene! I love discovering information about my ancestors. What often amazes me is how we find such wonder in these events when I’m sure the people involved at the time didn’t see it as anything special. Time has a way of changing the ordinary into something quite extraordinary. Doesn’t it?

      Reply
  2. Yeah – With my luck I’d lie on a fire ant mound before getting bombarded by Blue Jays – Both would no doubt light a spark … & the language would “flow”

    Reply
    • LOL! I’m seeing ya lying in the ant hill, Dave, and I’m laughing. Thanks!

      I’m really betting the language would “flow,” likely quite a heavy stream of it, too.

      Reply
  3. I love this post, Laura. I wish I could insert a couple of pictures that I took looking up . . .

    >>>It is like that sometimes when I’m writing a story. It feels as though I have only to show up on the page and just be. The words flow freely, the story unfolds and I’m in the middle of it all taking in the view.<<<<

    That's exactly how I feel about writing!

    Reply
    • Thanks. Ev! Glad you enjoyed it. It is a wonderful view looking up through the trees and it reminds me not to take life so seriously. To think back on those times, as a child, when there was nothing before us except for the view.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 153 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • my novels

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 60,428 hits
  • Add me

    Facebook Buttons By ButtonsHut.com

