Witchcraft

Just in time for Halloween, too! Here’s a look at the cover of Clary Croft’s new book, out from Nimbus this October. Clary Croft is a folklorist, writer, and entertainer. He is the author of several books, including Helen Creighton: Canada’s First Lady of Folklore, A Maritimer’s Miscellany, and Celebrate: The History and Folklore of Holidays in Nova Scotia. Clary lives in Halifax, Nova Scotia. Okay, so I totally got the bio from the Nimbus fall catalogue, but at least now ya know a bit about him.

Thursday night we attended a reading and talk by Clary at the Desbrisay Museum in Bridgewater. I was so taken by his speaking abilities that I even emailed my editor at Nimbus to say so. Seems like a silly thing to have done now, but I’ve got to say the man gives a good talk. He’s got a pretty good sense of humour, too. When asked if he learned any spells while researching this book, his answer was, “If I did do you think I’d still be bald headed?”

I’ve been interested in the topic of Witchcraft for a long time now. Lunenburg County is filled with stories of people who believed in witchcraft and I’m not talking about centuries ago, either. My grandmother actually believed that one of her neighbours was a witch, and would make my mum and her siblings wear dogwood crossed pinned to their undershirts whenever they had to walk past this woman’s house. To say this peaked my interest is an understatement. I only wish now my grandmother was alive so that I could ask her a few questions about some of her beliefs. But it seems these opportunities often slip through our fingertips, and far too often it is too late. Of course, to get this out of my system I did write an novel on the subject. So yes, you could say I was pretty excited to hear Clary speak the other night.

Witchcraft is in stores now and also available at Amazon.ca.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. The cover is beautiful. What a fabulous looking door. Would you step through?

    Nice post, Laura. It looks like his hair is finally growing.

    Reply
    • Thanks Joylene, as Clary explained, the door of course, is a Christian door, with the sign of the cross. There are also some letters above it that were supposed to keep witches from entering the house. For some reason when I look at it it looks a bit Christmasy. Must be the red on the cover.

      Reply
  2. I hope this book provides some clarity about the reality of modern witches-or Wiccans-as they apparently are called.

    I’m not Wiccan but have known some people who are and they get pretty tired of the misconceptions and prejudice they still experience to this day!

    Reply
    • Hi Pauline, This book, so far as I know, is not about Wicca at all. He did however explain the difference in his talk. (I haven’t had time to read the book yet.) Clary is a folklorist and he gathered the information from a historical viewpoint. There are stories in the book gathered from people who believed whole heartedly in witchcraft as I mentioned in my post, my grandmother thought one of her neighbours was a witch. She wasn’t. She belonged to the Anglican church for goodness sake. Yet it wasn’t uncommon for people to have these misconceptions about people for no good reason, many times. The book is more about the beliefs that people had years ago about witchcraft, wrongly so, of course. Lunenburg county, where many of these beliefs were strongly held, was settled by German people who brought their beliefs and fears with them.

      Hope that explains a bit more. I’m surprised to know that people today still have misconceptions about practicing Wiccans. Hopefully one day, we’ll live in a world where people do not have to deal with prejudice.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 153 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • my novels

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 59,991 hits
  • Add me

    Facebook Buttons By ButtonsHut.com

