Stormy Weather

No snow for Christmas this year in Nova Scotia, and yet it didn’t make it feel any less like Christmas. My children were all able to make it home because of the good travelling conditions, and we’re having a glorious week so far with Miss Charlotte and Mel.

When I was growing up, no snow for Christmas would have been totally unheard of. I can’t seem to recall a single Christmas when weren’t buried in tons of snow.

But, as you can see, here it is three days later and it’s a totally different story. Oh we’ve got snow all right. No worries about that. The older I become the less fond I am of snow. I’ll agree it’s pretty to look at, and I’ll even admit there’s something appealing about sitting inside the house while a snowstorm is raging outside. There is this feeling of closeness that makes me feel safe and content. It’s a great time to curl up with a book or work on a story. I find storms—snow, rain, and wind— to be rather inspiring. The thought of people travelling out on the snowy, icy roads is the real reason why I don’t like the snow.

As I watch the snow still accumulating outside, I realize how anxious I am to get back to reading and writing in the New Year. I have some books to read by some friends I met online this year. One is a suspense thriller by Joylene Butler (Mum is reading it right now and she’s been raving about it!) another is a MG by Darlene Foster, a fellow contributor to the Country Roads Anthology. I’m sure I’ll be mentioning these books on my blog later in January.

The receipt of a gift certificate for the local bookstore will ensure that I’ll be making a book purchase sometime very soon in the New Year. Any suggestions of what book I should buy?

So while there’s nothing I can do about the winter weather outside, there’s plenty I can do to enjoy these cold, dark days of winter.

Anything exciting on your to be read list for the New Year?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

19 Comments

  1. I’m glad your children made it home for Christmas!

    I’m reading Marissa Farr’s ALONE. Also, I’m so excited to have just downloaded Julia Rachel Barrett’s COME BACK TO ME.
    I’ll let you know my thoughts about them when I’m done.

    For book club, we’re reading THE GIRL WITH THE DRAGON TATTOO. So yep, lost on my list.

    Reply
    • We really did have a wonderful Christmas!

      I’ll check out these titles out in the New Year. I’ve of course, heard great things about THE GIRL WITH THE DRAGON TATOO.

      Reply
  2. Dear Laura:

    I’m so happy that you had a wonderful visit with you kids.

    I always think I’m not as enthralled by the snow now as I was when I was a kid–and then it starts to fall. ;-) I love it. And yes, partially because it’s the perfect excuse (not like I need one!) to sit and read.

    My new year’s reading list is already huge, but I think the first four reads will be: ATONEMENT by Ian McEwan, THE GIRL WITH THE DRAGON TATOO, YOU by Charles Benoit, and THE SECRET HISTORY by Donna Tartt.

    I will try to check out the titles you mentioned too!

    Happy reading in 2011, :) Ev

    Reply
    • Hi Ev, your gravitar always makes me happy–never change it even when you are old and grey..LOL!

      Thanks for sending along your reading list. Tow votes for THE GIRL WITH THE DRAGON TATOO.

      Reply
  3. OMG, your mother is reading it! Suddenly I feel faint. LOL. Honestly, I’m thrilled. And I understand what you mean about snow. I worry every year about my sons traveling our highway. It can be frightening during a heavy storm. Too many chip trucks, too many inexperienced drivers, too many moose. We heard from our family in Rusagonis and they have been snowblowing for two days. When our sons were young, it was actually fun to all get outside and give dad a hand.

    I’m 80 chapters from finishing War and Peace (366 chapters), then I have a pile of books to get to.

    Ah, the memories. Merry Christmas, Laura, and Happy New Year.

    Reply
    • Oh yes, my mum is a harsh critic. She admitted that she wasn’t sure she was going to like it, but tweny pages in she was raving..I hope she soon finishes it. Reading is slow for her because of her visual impairment and the fact that she has to use a magnifyer.

      War and Peace? You are a brave woman. Haooy New Year to you, as well.

      Reply
  4. I lived in the wintry, snow-covered Great Lakes area for many years. The Blizzard of 1978 changed my life. After that blizzard, I wanted to go south where blizzards did not happen. In the 1978 blizzard people were buried in their homes! They had to be dug out. Many were buried in their vehicles and even in big trucks! I love the look of a new fallen snow, but I don’t want to experience another blizzard, ever. Blessings to you, Laura…

    Reply
    • There are many horror stories out there involving blizzards. While I don’t mind snow storms so terribly much, blizzards are a totally different thing altogether.Let us hope we never have to experience one where people are trapped in their homes or cars.

      Reply
  5. Your picture is beautiful! Right down to the well and pump it has the rustic country look that evokes nostalgic memories. I still love the snow, but on the BC west coast it doesn’t usually last very long, plus I don’t have to go out in it unless I choose to. Our stormiest weather in recent history was during the winter of 2008 when we had a couple feet of snow that lasted for a couple months! This Christmas we’re visiting family in the East Kootenays and there was a fresh dusting of snow and blue skies for Christmas Day. The roads were good when we came and I’m hoping they’ll still be good when it’s time to return home.

    Happy New Year to you, Laura.

    Reply
    • Happy New Year to you, Carol. I think we here on the east coast are often envious of your winters, although most of us probably think you you get little winter at all.

      Here’s hoping for good road conditions for you to travel on. :)

      Reply
  6. It didn’t snow in Nova Scotia for Christmas? That is very weird based on what I’ve heard about that province at this time of year! But snow doesn’t make a Christmas, family does, as you mentioned.:)

    I’ve got tons of books on my must read list, one of which is this one.:D :

    http://www.chapters.indigo.ca/books/Bitter-Sweet-Laura-Best/9781551097367-item.html?ikwid=laura+best&ikwsec=Home

    Reply
    • The snow came after Christmas. Not a whole lot, about 4-5 inches. We’ve actually had a lot of rain storms this fall. This snow storm made the forth storm to come on a Monday and next Monday is calling for another one..

      Awww! Pauline, that’s sweet to say that you’ve added my book to your reading list!

      Reply
  7. christicorbett

     /  December 29, 2010

    Laura,
    The picture you selected is wonderful, and elicits many fond memories of living in the snowy Northern Minnesota winters.

    Now, I live where I don’t even need a snow shovel…which is both kind of nice (rain doesn’t require a shovel) but a bit sad over the holidays because they just aren’t the same without snow.

    As for my reading plans, I think I’ll start by re-reading some old favorites. Gone with the Wind for starters.

    Great post!

    Christi Corbett

    http://christicorbett.wordpress.com

    Reply
    • Thanks, Christi! I guess it would seem a bit odd not to have any snow at all. Some years we have way too much, and others it’s mostly ice. I guess if given a choice I’d choose the snow. Ice is scary for travelling.

      Gone With The Wind is a great book and a good way to start the New Year off.

      Reply
  8. Planning on reading Blue Like Jazz, by Donald Miller. After that, I have no plans, but I think I’ll give in to peer pressure from your readers. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo may be next. Thanks for the titles, Laura.

    Reply
    • No problem, V.V. I’m getting curious about THE GIRL WITH THE DRAGON TATOO as well, but there are just too many to work my way through before I’d ever get to that one.

      Reply
  9. Now that my time at home is winding down, only a few days left, Im gonna order a book called Bitter,Sweet. Looking forward to it. Glad you had a nice visit. Great pic. (Warm again here (finally – beach tomorrow.) Happy New Year. D

    Reply
    • Thanks Dave— yes, we’re having a great visit. The week is flying by. Getting in planty of baby hugs and kisses to tide us over for the next few months. Hope you and Deb had a good Christmas.

      You know, now that you’ve mentioned it I’ve heard a bit about this book, Bitter, Sweet. Small world, isn’t it..LOL. :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 153 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • my novels

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 60,324 hits
  • Add me

    Facebook Buttons By ButtonsHut.com

