Amanda in Arabia

Earlier this year, I *met* Darlene Foster as we were both contributors to the Country Roads Anthology. Darlene is a writer from Tsawwassen, British Columbia who also writes for kids. I’ve recently had the pleasure of reading her book. Amanda in Arabia :The Perfume Flask.

Inspiration for the book came about 10 years ago when Darlene made a trip to the United Arab Emirates. Like many writers, Darlene was able to incorporate some of her own experiences into the book. Be prepared to learn a lot about the culture while you follow Amanda on her adventure.

I was curious about Darlene’s publisher ireadwrite and asked her to tell us a bit about it. If you’re like me, you know very little about e-publishers.

This is what she had to say:

“I have had a very positive experience with my publisher. ireadiwrite is an e-publisher and the owner lives in my area. She came to my writer’s group as a guest speaker to inform us about e-publishing. We later talked about my book and she invited me to submit the manuscript. The book was published as an e-book and after 6 months and some success, she decided to publish it as a printed book. I was very fortunate that she believed in my book and my ability to market it to the public as she doesn’t normally offer printed books.”

I’ve added a link to the publisher’s site for anyone who’d like to check them out. ireadwrite Publishing.

The next installment in the series, Amanda In Spain: The Girl In The Painting, is available in ebook form.

Amanda in Arabia: The Perfume Flask is available at Amazon.ca and Amazon.com

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. Thank you for sharing information about Darlene Foster, her e-book and publisher. Blessings…

    Reply
  2. It’s nice to be introduced to another writer and her work. I live in Darlene’s general area but hadn’t heard of her ePublisher, so it was interesting to be able to check it out. Thanks for the link, and best of luck to Darlene with her Amanda in Arabia series.

    Reply
    • It’s always fun to meet other authors and read about their journey. There are many paths to publication, and up to us to figure out the right one.

      Reply
  3. This sounds interesting. I’ve researched e-pubs so this came in a timely manner for me. Thanks for sharing this.

    Reply
  4. Thanks Laura for telling your readers about my writing and my publisher! I love that the writing community is like a family; each member having something to offer and so willing to help each other along the way. What a wonderful world I have entered.

    Reply
    • Your welcome, Darlene. There’s lot of author love being spread around these days. Nice to be on the receiving end. Glad to help out!

      Reply
  5. E-publishing has certainly become popular. Anyone can have a book ‘published’ this way. Unfortunately, the ease also allows everything – the good, the bad and the ugly – to get published.

    It can also be taken advantage of by fly-by-night companies looking to make a quick buck from unsuspecting writers. It’s good to hear about a company who is doing what they’re supposed to do: help their authors to become successful.

    If anyone wants to go it alone, they might consider Smashwords. I recently posted my book there (http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/33448). You can upload your book for free and set your own price. The website takes a small cut from any books sold, but the break-down of who gets what is clearly visible when you set your price.

    I posted my book December 14th, so I’m still new. I can’t say if this will be a great thing, mediocre or a waste of time. The nice thing about Smashwords is they ‘translate’ your book into several different formats (pdf, html, Apple, Sony) and make it available to various catalogues, including Barnes & Noble (http://search.barnesandnoble.com/Mystery-Light-in-Cranberry-Cove/Candy-McMudd/e/2940011155314/?itm=1&USRI=candy+mcmudd). They are trying to work out a deal with Chapters, too.

    There are lots of options these days for writers. We no longer have to wait for others to choose our paths in life.

    Reply
    • Thanks for all the information, Diane. I’ve never heard of this publisher before either. I guess I’m pretty green at E-publishing. Also, thanks for advising caution when choosing one.

      Reply
      • I researched self-publishing and e-publishing last year after I was rejected once again. Somewhere around 95% of children manuscripts submitted are rejected. That doesn’t give many of us a chance to see our stories in print. The nice comments from the editors make me feel good for a short time, but my manuscripts still don’t come to life. I got tired of waiting, so decided to ‘do it myself’.

        It’s not for everyone. There’s a huge learning curve. I’m still learning. And you have to be self-motivated.

        Reply
  6. Hello Laura and Darlene,

    Thank you so much for the kind words Darlene and to Laura for providing the forum! We’ve been in business for almost 2 years and Darlene’s most recent book represents our 50th title “in print”. (We have 50 active titles, four of which are in paper as well). We’re proud of all that our authors have achieved and of our little press. Thanks again!

    Reply
    • Hi Michelle, So nice to meet you and welcome to my blog! I was cetainly impressed by your site. E-publishing is a very new concept for me but I believe we have to be open to knew ideas. I have a sneaking suspicion that this is the way of future!

      Reply
  1. Tweets that mention Amanda in Arabia « Laura Best, author -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 152 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • my novels

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 59,601 hits
  • Add me

    Facebook Buttons By ButtonsHut.com

