Something to Think About

I love inspirational quotes. Don’t you? They’re so…so..inspiring. Here are a few inspirational quotes I wanted to share with all the writers out there. I hope they give you something to think about.

1. We ask ourselves, who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented and fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. – Marianne Williamson

2. The muse whispers to you when she chooses, and you can’t tell her to come back later, because you quickly learn in this business that she might not come back at all.
Terry Brooks

3. Your biggest problem is yourself. Getting out of the way and letting your imagination take over is the best way. – Terry Brooks

4. My books are water; those of the great geniuses are wine. Everybody drinks water. – Mark Twain

5. What I like in a good author isn’t what he says, but what he whispers. – Logan Pearsall Smith

6. The main rule of writing is that, if you do it with enough assurance and confidence, you’re allowed to do whatever you like. (That may be a rule for life as well as for writing. But it’s definitely true for writing.) - Neil Gaiman

7. Read, read, read. Read everything-trash, classics, good and bad, and see how they do it. Just like a carpenter who works as an apprentice and studies the most. Read! You’ll absorb it. Then write. If it is good, you’ll find out. If it’s not, throw it out the window. - William Faulkner

8. All writers are crazy. So never mind what the editors and your family and your critique group tells you. Submit your manuscripts and keep submitting until you get an offer. Then you can be crazy, with a paycheck. – MaryJanice Davidson

9. If you do not hear music in your words, you have put too much thought into your writing and not enough heart. – Terry Brooks

10. Create a character who is both proactive and sympathetic, someone with a hole in her life, but who is willing to risk all for her goal. When readers care, you can get away with almost anything. – Bonnie Hearn Hill

Enjoy your weekend!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

26 Comments

  1. Wonderful quotes! Thanks so much for sharing. :-)

    Reply
  2. I love these. You know how much I love inspirational quotes, Laura. Thanks for posting these.

    Reply
  3. Thanks for sharing these, Laura. Sometimes a little breath of wisdom is all it takes to fan the creative flame.

    Reply
    • “Sometimes a little breath of wisdom is all it takes to fan the creative flame.”— that’s quite a quote there, too, Patti!

      Reply
  4. The need for food, clothing and shelter, et. al., has inspired me a great deal.

    Reply
    • Well Carl, while some of us may find inspiration in the quotes of other while others, as you say, find ourselves inspired out of necessity. Eating, clothing and housing are all important..

      Reply
  5. Number Two is all too true! Fabulous quotes! Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  6. great quotes but I wish I can remember them after I read them. though some quotes does stay with me but I only seem to remember when I try not to remember them.

    Reply
    • I know what you’re saying Lissa. I have some quotes that I seem to remember, others I find difficult to hold onto. I’ve been known to print out a very inspiring quote and put within view of my computer.

      Reply
  7. Terry Brooks may write outside my genre, but he speaks a wise universal language to writers.

    Reply
  8. I love these quotes! Thanks for sharing these, Laura. :)

    Reply
  9. “All writers are crazy” – yep.

    Reply
  10. They’re all wonderful, though #8 speaks to me, and has for a while. I also like “there are only two mistakes one can make along the road to truth; not going all the way, and not starting.” Buddha.

    Reply
  11. I love quotes! Thanks for sharing these. Number 4 by our friend Mark Twain is my favourite.

    Reply
  12. Thanks for sharing these, Laura…I’m familiar with some of them because I post a quote about books/reading on our bookstore Facebook page every day. As a quote junkie, I especially enjoy Mark Twain.

    Wendy

    Reply
    • That’s a nice idea to post a quote every day on your Facebook page, Wendy. I’m expect you’ve made yourself familiar with a good number of them by now.

      Reply
  13. Hi Laura!!
    Agree completely about Lady Muse. :)
    And crazy with a paycheck!! Wow!! Love that one. :)
    Thank you for sharing the wonderful quotes.
    ~Punam (http://punamjr.wordpress.com)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 152 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • my novels

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 59,512 hits
  • Add me

    Facebook Buttons By ButtonsHut.com

