The Face in the Glass

I’m not sure how many of you are familiar with this poem but when I came across it this evening I found the message particularly inspiring. I hope you find some inspiration in Dale Wimbrow’s words as well.

The Face In The Glass
________________________________________
When you get what you want in your struggle for self
And the world makes you king for a day,
Just go to a mirror and look at yourself
And see what THAT face has to say.

For it isn’t your father or mother or spouse
Whose judgment upon you must pass;
The person whose verdict counts most in your life
Is the one staring back from the glass.

Some people might think you are a straight-shootin’ chum
And call you a wonderful guy or gal,
But the face in the glass says you’re only a bum
If you can’t look it straight in the eye.
That’s the one you must please, never mind all the rest,
For that’s the one with you clear up to the end.
And you know you have passed your most dangerous test
If the face in the glass is your friend.
You may fool the whole world down the pathway of life
And get pats on your back as you pass,
But your final reward will be heartaches and tears
If you’ve cheated the face in the glass.
~ Dale Wimbrow ~

Next Post
Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. I like this poem a lot. It is so true. I plan to share it. Thanks Laura

    Reply
    • Glad you liked the poem, Darlene. I found it on my computer.A pleasant surprise.. My son had saved it a few years back..

      Reply
  2. For those of us that have a conscience the poem is meaningful. For people with a sense of self respect and social responsibility the poem is meaningful. But if you are a scumbag you like who you are and the skulduggery you do. I always felt “to thine own self be true” was the dumbest allegedly wise saying I ever heard. If you are a bank robber and raking in the cash aren’t you being true to your self and as you look in the mirror see yourself in absolute glee?

    Reply
    • I understand where you’re coming from, Carl. Myself, I guess I’ve given up trying to understand what motivates some people. I can only be mindful of myself and my actions. I personally do not believe that if we are being “true” to ourselves that we would rob banks and do other such things. I believe our “true nature” is for good as our true nature comes from God. Those who do evil might think they are being true themselves but are they? I don’t think so. Anyway, this is just a few of my thoughts. It certainly doesn’t make them right..

      Reply
  3. Thanks for sharing, Laura.

    Reply
  4. Wonderful poem. So true. It’s the motto I used so often when my sons were growing. I sounded like a broken record most days. But I look at them knowing they can look in the mirror. Amen to that.

    Hi Laura!

    Reply
    • Glad you enjoyed the poem. I agree with you that kids need to be told this. All I’ve ever really wanted my kids to be was good people, and luckily they all are. :)

      Reply
  5. Thanks so much for sharing these words of wisdom.

    Reply
  6. I had not seen it before – wonderful – thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 196 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • my novels

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 61,112 hits
  • Add me

    Facebook Buttons By ButtonsHut.com

