A Bowl of Cherries

Life is just a bowl of cherries
Don’t take it serious,
Life’s too mysterious
You work,
You save,
You worry so
But you can’t take your dough
When you go, go, go

So keep repeating “It’s the berries.”
The strongest oak must fall
The sweet things in life
To you were just loaned
So how can you lose
What you’ve never owned

Life is just a bowl of cherries
So live and laugh,
Laugh and love
Live and laugh at it all!

This silly little song holds a lot of truth and serves as a reminder that we shouldn’t always take life so serious. The picture is a reminder to me of just how delicious those cherries were this summer. I’ve been waiting for the perfect time to post it. When is it not the perfect time to post a picture of fresh cherries?

This post has nothing to do with writing, except maybe the mention of the word writing, but I don’t think that counts. I’m also not sure I care at the moment. I happen to be in a silly mood. Miss Charlotte is due to make a visit this weekend, she’s even bringing her parents along. I have a right to feel giddy.

I hope you are in a place at the moment where you can live, love and laugh to your heart’s content, and if not, hopefully you will find that place soon.

So, if you want to throw something silly out there to prove you aren’t taking life so serious, I say go for it! We can all stand a good giggle.

Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. Dyslexics of the world untie!

    Reply
    • That sounds a bit dangerous, Dave… It also made me giggle. You might win the prize, if in fact there was a prize to be given out. Perhaps just knowing you made me giggle is prize enough.. :)

      Reply
  2. You are right, a good giggle is a great thing! Enjoyed your post very much.

    Reply
    • Thanks for reading Neeks! Giggling has always worked for my, unless it’s one of those times when I wasn’t supposed to giggle. Seems to me that happened often when I was growing up…

      Reply
  3. :-) Sometimes writing is about channeling our silly side as a way to remind us to have a little fun every once in a while. Laughter, joy, silliness – it truly is the little things in life that make for good stories.

    Reply
    • Spoken like a real writer! :) I was too silly to even think of a way to incorporate my writing life in this post. You did it quite nicely for me, C.B. Some days should be nothing more than silliness in my book. I hate it when I take life far to seriously.

      Reply
  4. This is a refreshing post, Laura. Happy to see Miss Charlotte will be paying you a visit. I know how special those times are.

    Reply
    • Thanks, Patti. I’m so excited to see Miss Charlotte. I’m grateful for the once a month visits, but I do wish they could be more often. She’s growing so fast!

      Reply
  5. What a delightful post. And it has everything to do with writing. We spend so much time by ourselves ruminating over our prose that it’s important to remember we’re human, we need nourishment, love, companionship. Loved ones like Miss Charlotte to break up the endless hours of mind activity. I love that you’ve reminded how excited I am that I’ll soon be in New Brunswick, kissing and smooching and cooing over our newest grandson. Can’t wait!

    Reply
    • Thanks Joylene. It is important to remember that there is much more to life than our writing. Family need to come first. I know you’re excited to see that new little man in your family. He’s such a sweetheart.

      Reply
  6. What is ironic about this song is that it came out in 1931 at the height of the Great Depression(see songs of great depression). My favorite was “Brother can you spare a dime….” These songs had a social dimension to them as did the antiwar songs in Vietnam era. How anyone could appreciate the bowl of cherries thing is beyond me. To suggest that life was so was an insult to millions of hungry unemployed Americans. Not so “silly” at all. Thanks for giving this retired history teacher something to say.

    Reply
    • The fact that about 80 million Americans went to the movie theatre at least once a week during the depressions tells me that people during that time were looking for something to help them forget their troubles and worries. Movies and songs, entertain in general, likely gave them that outlet. I suspect that was the reason for this song in particular. I never lived during the Great Depression so I can’t say for sure, but I have lived through depression. It seems to me that during our darkest times, to be able to smile, to forget, and to hope even for a fraction of a moment, helps to propel us forward.

      I respect where you’re coming from, Carl and I do see your point. Myself, I do sometimes appreciate the irony in life.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 154 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • my novels

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 59,908 hits
  • Add me

    Facebook Buttons By ButtonsHut.com

