A Recipe For Fun

1.Take three friends

2.Throw in a little red ribbon and a few jingle of bells

3.A trip by car

4. A cup of Tim Horton’s coffee

4.A heaping serving of restoration

5.A ginormous portion of laughter, not to mention plain old silliness

6.Add one author

7. A copy of Bitter, Sweet

8.Good food & good conversation.

Add ingredients one at a time, place inside the most gorgeous Nova Scotia day you can find. Stir.

Here’s what you end up with.

The coffee at the Tim Horton’s might not have been the best (for the love of all that is holy with coffee, get the order right. One black, two cream, no sugar, One cream with sweetener… Gah!) but the rest of the day turned out to be great fun.The ladies in the photo have been friends for many years, but the three of them had not spent time together since the seventies. Talk about a giddy bunch. I suppose that’s to be expected. Once you make it past 50 it takes less and less to amuse you. Having turned 50 last year, my friends can vouch for the fact that I’ll laugh about pretty much anything. But there are worse things, I’ve been told.

After a quick cup of coffee we went off to St. John’s Anglican Church in Lunenburg. It’s hard to believe that this church survived a fire ten years ago. Luckily, there was enough of the building remaining and the determination to rebuild this beautiful centuries old church and bring it back to life. A lot of hard work went into restoring this fine building that was originally built in the mid 1700’s. To attend a service is to truly experience this church to the fullest. I felt as though I was in the midst of a fairy tale as I gazed at my surroundings. After the service which lasted nearly two hours, I might add, we headed off toward Mahone Bay for lunch.

Driving through the town of Mahone Bay is always an experience in itself. Seems as though there is always some festival going on—great for the tourists, you know. Remember back in October when I  wrote a post about the Scarecrows and posted a few photos? If you’ve already forgotten you can check out the post here. Not to disappoint, Sunday was the Father Christmas Festival. Yup,  good old St. Nicholas was everywhere. I have a few photos that I took as we passed through that I’ll publish in a later post. I only wish I had been able to get a few more shots in, but lunch was awaiting us, and well…Lunch was awaiting.

Have you ever had the feeling that you draw attention where ever you go? I just have to say that if four woman with jingle bells tied fast to their wrist with red ribbon..well…can you imagine? Mind you this isn’t something that I would normally do on my own, but…what can I say? I’m a follower, not a leader. Nor did I want to be left standing by a a pile of rocks overlooking the bay. I just wanted to fit in gall dang it all! Which I think I did pretty well. Besides, they struck me as a bunch who wouldn’t hesitate to leave me stranded by the roadside with nothing but the sounds of jingle bells and laughter in their wake. Too late then to remember I’d forgotten the cell phone. Before the day was out I had convinced Doe to take a signed copy of my book home with her to Ontario, making her vow that she would promote this book like it was her very own. (Enough begging and pleading and even the toughest nut will crack.) She finally gave in when I promised to throw in a bookmark. I felt fortunate not to have had to resort to arm twisting, nor was throwing a temper tantrum necessary.. She’s such a good sport. A real dear (or is that deer?) Sorry Doe, I could not resist.

All jokes aside. Thank you Gail, Carol and Doe for a truly memorable day. Here’s to friendships, old and new. And here’s to creating your own recipe for fun.

What are some special ingredients that you would add to your recipe for fun?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

22 Comments

  1. Fun? Watching my daughter manage 3 crazy kids. Payback time, you see.

    Reply
  2. Laura, I’m happy for you to be able to do this. Yes, it must have been a marvellous time. I enjoy the odd odd thing .. :) … life is meant to be lived!
    And what better way to promote your book? A win-win situation I would say.

    Reply
  3. Your stories always warm my heart, Laura. Sounds like you had one of those special days that stay with you forever. Jiggle bells et al.

    Reply
  4. Carol Ann Hoel

     /  December 8, 2011

    I must admit that you know how to have fun. What a lovely reunion of friends! Blessings to you all…

    Reply
  5. Laura, that was not only fun, it was in a way of creating great memories. I would add the times we sat at a long table, and after having eaten a great meal one of us prepared, sitting with black coffee and pastries and talking until the wee-hours. Music in the background, kids bedding down and safe and sharing each other’s dreams. I toast to you and your friends and to my own as well :)

    Reply
  6. Glad you had a great time with your friends, Laura! Old friends are the best kind!

    Wendy

    Reply
  7. Sounds like a wonderful way to spend a day. My only thought would be somewhere warmer, but then, the jingle bells might appear to be out of place.

    Reply
    • Oh Pattii, it was beautifully warm (but not hot.) And one would never guess that Christmas was so handy. We haven’t a flake of snow. Be strong, my friend. ;)

      Reply
  8. It is always so wonderful to get together with friends. I look forward to seeing some good friends next week in Calgary. Perhaps we should get some jingle bells!

    Reply
    • Yes, there is nothing better, I agree. You definitely need to get jingle bells. It makes the air happy around you when you make them jingle all the way…:)

      Reply
  9. Sounds like a fun, crazy road trip!

    Special ingredients for me for fun: Sleep, food, drawing..of course going for a little trip too might be fun!

    Reply
  10. Judi

     /  December 9, 2011

    Laua, you make everything sound sooo interesting and fun. To be around you is very interesting in it’s self, but then add friends, laughter, and of course, food and you are in for a great memory that lasts forever…..Thanks

    Reply
    • Hey there Judi, life is fun and interesting , maybe not 100 % of the time but we have to make our own fun, as you well know. I had a great time with you and Barnie on Monday. Wishing now I’d have brought my camera. But camera or not the memories are there and that’s the important past. :)

      Reply
  11. I’ve been to St. John’s Anglican Church and have about twenty pictures from many angles. I was disappointed to hear about the fire, but pleased to hear it would rise again. My Tibert (Diebert)ancestors were part of the crew who originally settled Lunenburg, so the old structures there hold a lot of historical value for my family.

    It’s great to get together with friends — old and new.

    Reply
  12. Interesting, so are your ancestors German? Some of mine are. I love these old buildings. It’s seems impossible to think that they were able to build such wonderful structures back then. They certainly don’t make them like they used to.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 154 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • my novels

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 59,889 hits
  • Add me

    Facebook Buttons By ButtonsHut.com

