I’m a SCAIPER

What, you’ve never heard of a SCAIPER?

That’s SCAIPER as in CANSCAIPER.

If you’re from Canada and you write for kids you have likely heard of this organization.

Let’s keep this simple.

CANSCAIP is a National Arts Service Organization dedicated to the celebration and promotion of Canadian children’s authors, illustrators and performers and their work.

You don’t have to be a published author to join. You can become a “friend” and still keep up with all the news. It’s also a great way to find out more about your favourite Canadian children’s author, illustrator or performer.

Here’s the link to the CANSCAIP site. If you click into members you can find my page. And if you don’t, well then, you won’t find it. Told you it was simple.

Today, I received word that the CANSCAIP site had added a list of the member’s book trailers. Many of you have already seen the trailer for Bitter, Sweet. My daughter and I put it together, about a year and a half ago on one of my visits, shortly after Miss Charlotte was born.

If you’re familiar with Dalhousie, the pictures we used  in the trailer are all from the area. Kind of “cool and neat” as Miss Charlotte likes to say. And yes, that’s an actual shot of the Dalhousie Road where the story is set. Now, I personally don’t live on the section of road that is unpaved, but yes, part of the road today is still dirt just like back in the 1940’s. Unfortunately, the deserted house featured in the video was torn down last summer. It had been empty for some years and I suppose there was no one to keep up repairs. Oh, and the little guy holding up the trout is my husband at about seven or eight. The joke in our family is that hubby loves to see videos of himself so it only seemed fitting that he’d make an appearance.

 If you’re interested in checking out some of the other trailers slip on over and have a gander. You’ll find mine there as well. This link will take you directly to page. Here. In the next while, I’m going to check these trailers out to get some “cool and neat” ideas for my next book trailer.

*Keep in mind if you’re on dial-up, as I know many of my friends from the area are, it’ll take awhile for these YouTube videos to upload. Be patient.

Oh and while you’re here, might I say, Happy Valentine’s Day to you all. May your day be filled with sunshine, roses and chocolate. If you’re one of those folks who doesn’t buy into the whole notion of Valentine’s Day have some chocolate anyway. Even the most mundane day can be improved with chocolate. Oh here, I’ll give you the chocolate myself.  Enjoy.

Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. Thanks for pointing out CANSCAIP. I belong to a number of groups already, some more local like CWILL of BC (Children’s Writers and Illustrators of BC) and the Federation of BC Writers. They have been very helpful in many ways but perhaps a national association may give me and my books more broader exposure. I loved your trailer. I had seen it before but forgot how ‘cool and neat’ it is. Excellent job.!

    Reply
    • CANSCAIP is a great organization for children’s writers. It keeps us up to date with what’s going on with children’s publishing, even gives us markets, and the author page is great. I know of at least one author who picked up work this way when she was contacted through CANSCAIP. Not to mention that people have located me through this site as well. :)

      Reply
  2. I’m downloading your trailer as we speak (I’m on dial-up). I was thinking of making a trailer for my upcoming fantasy book, but I don’t know where to start. In my mind, trailers are for movies and for camping in :-) . Thanks for pointing out these book trailers. Now I can get an idea of how it’s done.

    Reply
    • Diane, we used Windows media maker (Hmm, I believe that’s the name) That 1:21 minute trailer took a long time to put together. Condensing the story down to a few sentences was one of the biggest challenges. It was fun to do and we really enjoyed ourselves. It was certainly a huge learning experience.

      I think you’d have fun putting one together for your Fantasy novel, Diane. I’ll be anxious to see the finished product. :)

      Reply
      • I have Windows Live Movie Maker. I played with it about two weeks ago to make a short, under a minute, clip of the goat and cat on my farm. My intentions then was to learn about so I could eventually make a book trailer. Honestly, it looks more like fun than work. If you like that stuff and I love that stuff.

        I viewed your trailer and think it’s perfect for the book. I love the use of sepia to age the images, and then bringing the book to full colour at the end is a great touch.

        My toughest choice is the music. Where did you get the clip for your trailer? I seen the person’s name at the end, but did you have to pay a one-time fee to use it or was it free?

        While on the SCAIPER site I viewed Karleen Bradford’s trailer for The Stone in the Meadow: http://www.karleenbradford.com/stone_trailer.html

        It’s a longer one and took forever to download, but another greaet example of a book trailer.

        You’ve inspired me to create one for Mystery Light in Cranberry Cove. Now I need to find the time to do.

        Thanks, Laura.

        Reply
        • Isn’t Sepia wonderful? And of course it felt so good as Bitter, Sweet is an historical novel.

          We looked for royalty free music. The musician said that it was free to use but asked that he be given credit, which we did. Finding the right music took quite a bit of time. Music \, of course, it what sets the whole tone for the book.

          For obvious reasons I haven’t looked at a lot of the trailers but I’. going to over the next little while. Dial-up is painful, isn’t it?

          I’ll be anxious to see what you come up with, Diane. I’m sure you’ll share your end result with the rest of us. Now, I’m anxious to see what you come up with. :)

  3. I have been a “Friend” of CANSCAIP for many years. It’s encouraging to read what the authors with whom I’m familiar are doing.

    It’s funny that you should be talking about book trailers today. I was just enjoying a few this week and they can be delightful and a fabulous invitation to read an author’s book. I can’t say I found every one I looked at to be enticing, but perhaps to someone else those ones are. I do enjoy yours, Laura, it had an emotional impact.

    Reply
    • We do all have different tastes, that’s for sure, and what will lure some of us in certainly won’t have the same effect on everyone.

      I agree, it is strange that so often we have the same things on our minds as someone else. Bloggers seem to do this all the time. Don’t we?

      Enjoy your Valentine’s Day, Lynn. :)

      Reply
  4. Laura, thank you so much for introducing me to CANSCAIP and most of all, for sharing the trailer to your book, Bitter Sweet. It sounds emotionally packed and lovely at the same time. I can see why you won the award. I can see a bit of you I didn’t know. Happy Valentine to you and yours :)

    Reply
    • Thanks for the Valentine ‘s Day wishes Florence, and for your lovely comments. The book trailer was putt together about a year after the release date of my book as I hadn’t a clue what a book trailer was before that time. We live and learn. I love seeing what other people come up with too.

      Reply
  5. Thank you for the Mars bar! Delicious. And congrats on the award. I’m thrilled for you, Laura. Happy Valentine’s Day!

    Reply
  6. CANSCAIP is great – people actually use it as a place to find authors. The eleven books I’ve done with JLS, the Korean ESL publisher, came about after the editor found me on CANSCAIP! Took me forever to make the trailer for HARE, but lots of people have viewed it, so hopefully that means it was worth it. There are people making trailers now as a business – the illustrator for RAINBOWS IN THE DARK, Alice Priestly, has made a few for other people. Hope you enjoyed some Mars yesterday!

    Reply
    • Yes, being a member of CANSCAIP has certainly helped your career along, Jan. We never know who’s watching and who is gathering information.. :)

      There does seem to be a lot of people making trailers. If nothing else they’re fun to watch. I’m not sure if they’re effective as a marketing tool, but everything we do doesn’t have to equal sales, does it?

      Reply
  7. I’d never noticed that the CANSCAIP site had a page for all the trailers. I’ll have to check out more of them. Yours is an excellent representation of your book, Laura. I think it must be very difficult to choose the limited number of scenes to give just the right feeling, but having read BITTER, SWEET, I’d say you nailed it.

    Reply
    • The page has been newly added, Carol. I think it’s a wonderful idea to have them all together, The site receives a lot of traffic. And thanks so much for your kind words about the Bitter, Sweet trailer. Condensing a book down to a few sentences is very challenging.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 153 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • my novels

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 59,993 hits
  • Add me

    Facebook Buttons By ButtonsHut.com

