New on the Horizon

Our grandchildren accept us for ourselves, without rebuke or effort to change us, as no one in our entire lives has ever done, not our parents, siblings, spouses, friends – and hardly ever our own grown children. ~Ruth Goode

Isn’t this the greatest quote for grandparents? All the grandparents out there are nodding their heads I’m sure. I can honestly say that being a nanny is totally awesome even though it has already been established on this blog that I’m far too young for this.  ;)

A few days ago, we noticed the tulips Miss Charlotte helped to plant last year are coming up through the ground. Miraculous, considering they were beneath three inches of snow just last week. When Mother Nature gets her spring up there’s just no stopping her. What a gal! While we’ve been having more than seasonal temperatures, in fact the last few days have felt more like late May than March, other parts of the country have been totally opposite. Go figure! But for now, I’ll take this beautiful weather with a great big thank you!

Next week is bound to fly by as Miss Charlotte and Momma are coming for a weeklong visit. If the weather cooperates, which I think it will, we should have a great visit. Heck, even if the weather is crappy the visit will be terrific. I heard Miss C is quite excited to visit Guppy B’s house.

I’ll still be around blogland next week, and will try to get caught up on some of the blogs I hadn’t been able to get to last week while I was working. The next three weeks are mine, though. Maybe I’ll finish up a short story I’m hoping to have in shipshape to submit to an upcoming anthology. The deadline is June 1, but I hate letting things go to the very end. I have to say, it’s been awhile since I submitted a short story. This is one I wrote a few years back but didn’t submit.  The theme for the anthology is social justice. It shouldn’t take too much tweaking to bring it closer to the theme. It was very close to begin with. I find when a theme is so broad, it’s often tricky to know what a particular editor is looking. Perhaps they aren’t sure themselves. Maybe it’s one of those, I’ll-know-it-when-I-read- it deals. I can go along with that. As editor Penny Ferguson once said on this blog sometimes”it is just a matter of connecting with the /right/ editor in the /right/ mood on the /right/ day!the right editor on the right day.” You can read the rest of Penny’s post here. Penny was the editor of the Amethyst Review, the very first literary magazine I was published in. Even though the review folded some years back we kept in touch.

While on the subject of publishing for those of you who like good news, I’ll have some to share with you all very soon!  

Is there anything new and exciting on your horizon?

Enjoy your weekend!

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Enjoy your time with that sweet grandaughter of yours. Every minute spent together is precious. I am so looking forward to your news. Good luck with the short story submission. (afterall that’s how we met!)

    Reply
  2. I hope you have a fabulous visit with your daughter and Miss Charlotte. I’m still busying painting and sanding and fixing up the old house. Can’t wait for the new balcony. Sat outside this morning and watched the swans asleep on the ice. Didn’t see any robins though, but they’re due soon, I think.

    Happy Spring, Laura!

    Reply
  3. When someone calls you Grandpa you know you’ve come of “age”. But why are they so much better in every way than your kids?

    Reply
  4. fivecats

     /  March 25, 2012

    Have a good visit.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 149 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • my novels

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 58,673 hits
  • Add me

    Facebook Buttons By ButtonsHut.com

