Down on the Farm

Come with me and I’ll take you for a little trip down on the farm, the Ross Farm Museum that is.

Not far from where I live is the Ross Farm Museum. I love going there. Strange, but I feel as though I’m going home whenever I visit. It’s that step back I time, I think, that feels so comfortable for me. I’m also inclined to think I write historical fiction for that very reason. It feels good and comfortable. I can easily imagine living in that time and place.

I thought I’d share some of the photos I took a few weeks back. There is lots to see and do every day. I wish we had more time that day because you could spend hours there and probably still not see everything.

It was a beautiful fall day. We couldn’t have asked for better weather. I really like the fences. Okay, so I like it all, the fences, the haywagon, the buildings.

I close my eyes and imagine the wagon heaped up high with hay.

Lots of wood for the winter. There really is nothing like wood heat when the wild wintery wind is blowing.

A peek inside the farmhouse. I’m not sure that bed is very comfy, but no one ever said life back then was easy. No luxuries to be found, at least not what we would consider luxuries.

So there you have it, a little step back in time. There is plenty to be learned from those who came before us. I appreciate that not everyone finds history as  fascinating as I do. In fact, I’ve heard many people say they really could care less. That makes me a little sad because one day we’ll be a part of the past and everyone, no matter who they are, deserves to be remembered in some way. We can’t all go down in history for the remarkable things we’ve done, but that doesn’t make our lives any less important.

Past or present, which do you prefer?

Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. I am fascinated by the past, although for much of it I wouldn’t want to live there. I like my conveniences, but for awhile can live without most of them. (note I said ‘most of them.’)
    What keeps my interest is people’s lives. I find their stories to be unique and riveting; I could listen for hours.
    Great images you captured there, Laura.

    Reply
    • Thanks Lynn. I agree, I find other people’s stories to be fascinating.We all lead unique lives even if we don’t acknowledge it.

      Reply
  2. What is time period ? I could do without a lot of contemporary things except microwave for bachelor cooking and freezer for ice cream.

    Reply
    • We’re looking back a few hundred yearsI believe. As for things contemporary, I like a mixture of the past and present.

      Reply
  3. I love the past as well. I was raised on a farm and some of these items are my history. We did not have running water and electricity until I was ten years old! I never miss a chance to visit a museum or historic building. When we recently visited Europe, Germany in particular, I felt like I was at home. Our family has not lived in Europe for over 100 years. Roots run deep. Loved your pictures.

    Reply
    • My grandfather’s side of the family was from Germany, and I love the story of how the German people came to Nova scotia way back in the 1700’s. I think you’re right, roots really do run deep. :)

      Reply
  4. Laura, you touch my heart with this stroll down memory lane. I love to write about a time when NYC, particularly Brooklyn, was my personal heaven. I often use the places and times I remember to tell my stories.

    This is such a lovely place and of course, you did a great job with the photos … it brought me into that time and place :)

    Reply
    • You’re sweet, Florence. :) Your comments always brighten my day.
      I’ve never understood why some people have no interest in the past, but of course we are all individuals with different likes and dislikes.

      Reply
  5. I’m definitely going to visit once we move out east. I feel very nostalgic when I’m inside some of these old heritage buildings. I don’t know why, they’re nothing like the farm I grew up on. It sure was a good life. Good memories.

    Reply
  6. I love the past, too, Laura and visiting places like this. Love all those places like Fortress Louisbourg and Upper Canada Village, Avonlea Village etc. I agree that learning about peoples’ lives back then is what makes history come alive more than dates of battles and treaties. Glad there is more great historical fiction like your books out there for young people to learn about history than when I was a kid.

    Reply
    • I would love to visit Fortress Louisbourg one day, Cathy. Next year is their 300th anniversary, I believe. There should be plenty of events planned for next summer. Who knows maybe I’ll make it. :)

      Reply
  7. I recently stood on the same Lunenburg beach where my ancestors arrived in 1753 – I was emotionally overwhelmed for a few minutes, trying to picture it, as it would have been, through their eyes. Hard to explain. Great pics!

    Reply
    • We both have ancestors who came to Nova Scotia around about the same time only different countries. :)
      I’m sure it must have been overwhelming for these newcomers so many years ago, and how cool that you went to the beach where they arrived…

      Reply
  8. David

     /  October 22, 2012

    Nice set of photos. The furniture, now, I wouldn’t mind having a few pieces.

    Reply
    • Thanks, David. I’ve been wondering if you’re still around the blogosphere these days. It seems you’ve disappeared…Nice to have you drop in. I love the old furniture as well. Not too keen on the straw mattress, though. It looks mighty uncomfortable. :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 151 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • my novels

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 59,150 hits
  • Add me

    Facebook Buttons By ButtonsHut.com

