A Little Out of the Ordinary

Yesterday, while I was peeling potatoes for the stew I was making, I wondered how many mother’s out there had received seed potatoes for Mother’s Day. Yes, I did say seed potatoes. I know this question seems a bit far out there, but I have a reason for asking.

I’ll admit the gift is a bit unorthodox, but sometimes unorthodox is fun, even welcomed, in the right circumstances. Mind you, I couldn’t imagine someone giving their city-dwelling mother a box of seed potatoes (that would just be wrong) but for a mother who lives in the country and plants a garden, could be a box of seed potato is the ideal gift.

So, who’s the mother who received a box of seed potato for Mother’s Day you might ask? Well, that would be moi! Truthfully, I think the idea stemmed from last years creative Christmas list my loving son sent my way where he’d added a 50 lb bag of Yukon Gold potatoes to his wish list. Here’s the post if you want to refresh your memory. He kind of threw me for a loop with some of the ridiculous items, but never fear, my motherly instinct kicked in and I ended up twisting his arm, requesting a new list. Nope, he didn’t end up with that 50 lb bag of potatoes under the Christmas tree.  And maybe he was a tab bit disappointed. Who’s to say? I imagined them slowly rotting away in his apartment over the winter months…Have you ever smelled a rotten potato? Nasty, just plain nasty.

But back to my Mother’s day gift. Coincidently, the box of seed potatoes were to grow into approximately 60 lbs and they were Golden Russets, not Yukon Gold, although I’m pretty sure he’d have been hard pressed to find Yukon Gold potato seed around these parts. So, we planted them this spring and harvested a bumper crop. Smart kid he is, he even came made a few visits out right around harvest time, returning to the city with some garden fresh potatoes in the trunk of his car. We all know  nothing out there can take the place of new potatoes, right?

Honestly, every time I peel a potato I think about my Mother’s Day gift and smile. Some gifts we soon forget, others linger in our minds for months to come.  Thanks kiddo, keeping thoughts of you ever present in my mind, and stomach, even though you’re miles from home.

What is the most unorthodox gift you ever received?

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. I’ve received many gifts from my current boyfriend that no one else will understand, including a 12-pack of pineapple Crush from Newfoundland because I mentioned that I’d tried it once, it was the best pop ever, and you can’t get it anywhere else. Maybe the most unorthodox (but thoroughly appreciated) was a 100-year old bottle of aged REAL balsamic vinegar from Italy. The stuff that’s called balsamic vinegar in grocery and even specialty stores is actually flavored red wine vinegar. The real stuff almost tastes like grape syrup with a very strong bite…completely unexpected. It just might go well with your potatoes. :)

    Reply
  2. I have to admit, I love Yukons. I’ve been known to eat a few. But, no way have I ever seen anyone eat as many as my husband. He has them for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and a snack at night. It’s got so he microwaves a few so they’re soft come morning, then he panfries them. He doesn’t care how they’re cooked. He swears he’s never met a potatoe he didn’t love. In fact, he raided my uncles potato patch at midnight the last time we were in Manitoba.

    Seed potatoes is a wonderful gift. You’d have to sell your first born to afford to ship them though.

    Reply
    • Wow! Sounds as though your hubby loves his Yukons. Honestly, I’ve eaten many varieties but that isn’t one of them. Now I’m curious.

      Reply
  3. potato seed sounds good to me, though I cannot keep a plant alive so I guess it would be not fit me as a gift. although I do love eating bake potatoes and potato chips and french fries.

    unorthodox gift? can’t think of any at the moment although I did get a leaf in the mail, does that count?

    hope you enjoy your gift.

    Reply
    • Hi Lissa! We’ll certainly be enjoying this gift for months to come. :) Getting a leaf in the mail sounds rather cool. I’m sure there was some meaning behind this…

      Reply
  4. Coming from a farm background, I appreciate these more practical gifts

    Reply
  5. I love unusual gifts! Especially when they are handmade. :-)

    Reply
  6. I like potatoes, too, although don’t really have a favourite kind. I like the firm white new ones in early summer and the red ones I can boil and slice into potato salad with the skins still on. Yum!

    Probably the oddest gift I ever received was a broken piece of donnacona that had been cut out of the ceiling of my dad’s original log cabin. It contained his pencilled notation that the cabin belonged to him, with his name and phone number. My hubby framed it for me, and it’s very precious.

    Reply
    • Red potatoes! Now you’re making me hungry. I haven’t had them for years.
      No wonder you consider the gift precious..How special. Gifts like that you just can’t top!!

      Reply
  7. Judi

     /  November 16, 2012

    I can really understand where your son comes up with his (crazy) notions. All you have to do is put ‘B’ and yourself in front of a mirror and you will see too…..LOL. I shall have to remember that you like unusual gifts……HHHHHmmmmmm Love the post….

    Reply
    • Thanks, Judi! I’m glad my non-blogging friends aren’t afraid to leave comments from time to time, or at least some of them.. :) I guess after all this time there are still things you don’t know about me…hehe

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 154 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • my novels

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 59,921 hits
  • Add me

    Facebook Buttons By ButtonsHut.com

