Author Photo–The Moment of Truth

As many of you know, I’m not a big fan of having my photo taken. Well, as long as I don’t ever have to look at the end result, you can snap all the photos you want.  ;) Being an author, sometimes you just have to do things that need to be done without whining or bellyaching, having your photo out there for the world to see is one of them.

Since it’s been three years since Bitter, Sweet came out, I decided it was time to have a bright shiny new author photo for my next book. I’ve narrowed my choices down to a few, and nearly drove my poor daughter crazy in the process. Now it’s time for your opinion. Which picture do you think I should use for the author photo for my next book? I’ll be sure to share the results with you before I send it off to my publisher. And here’s hoping I have this pole set up correctly. It’s the first time I’ve used one. I want to thank you in advance!!

Photo #1

Photo #1

Photo #2

Photo #2

Photo #3

Photo #3

Photo #4

Photo #4

Next Post
Leave a comment

31 Comments

  1. beverley

     /  December 30, 2012

    i like number 2

    Reply
  2. Laura

     /  December 30, 2012

    I’m partial to number 2…….very natural and relaxed looking, and of course …the smile!!….very nice!!…the others are very nice also, but for me number 2 is brilliant :)

    Reply
  3. I’m kind of partial to 1 and 4, but maybe it’s because of the backdrop! Also, it makes a difference if it’s to be B&W or colour, I find. You’re lucky to possess 4 decent pictures of yourself!

    Reply
    • Thanks, Jan, as you know finding a photo we’re happy with is not all that easy. On the brighter side, once it’s on the book it’ll be so tiny it won’t really matter… ;)

      Reply
  4. Judi

     /  December 30, 2012

    I really like # 1, but #2 would be the one I would pick because of the books behind you. I think that is very you, books, books and more books…..If you had wore the beige jacket in the #2 picture it would have been perfect. That color really looks good on you….But that’s just my opinion….LOL

    Reply
    • Maybe we can change the photos around with a little photoshop.. :) Thanks for giving your opinion, Judi. I appreciate it.

      Reply
  5. Definitely #2!

    Reply
  6. Lovely photos! I love your beautiful smile in #2 and #3, but personally I find stuff in the backgrounds distracting, so I voted for #4 — very classy look, with a background that stays in the background. :)

    Reply
    • Thanks, Shari. Backgrounds are important. I agree with you on that. I’ve noticed this by checking out other author photos recently.

      Reply
  7. Mary Ann Turner

     /  December 30, 2012

    i chose #2 … that smile is you! #’s 1& 4 are too serious looking, and the backdrop of books in #2 is better than #3. Like Judi said, the books are YOU!!

    Reply
  8. I like #4. You look like an author, someone who would be in the ranks of Margaret Atwood. Happy New Year, Laura! Oh, my second choice: #2.

    Reply
  9. I put my vote in, but Emma just had a look and she votes for #1. Just thought I’d pass that along. heh.

    Reply
  10. I’m really apreciating the feedback. here have been lots of votes through the pole and a lot of comments on Facebook.Everyone has a different choice and for different resons.. I like that.. Luckily, I have a while to make my choice.

    Reply
  11. I like #2 because it looks natural… and because of the books! However, if the book is fairly serious in tone, 1 or 4 might be more appropriate. So many decisions!! :)

    Reply
    • Thanks, Julie! Yes,decisions aren’t always so easy to make, but eventually I’l make up my mind. I was leaning toward one particular photo to begin with and I’ll likely stick with it. :)

      Reply
  12. Ericka

     /  December 30, 2012

    Laura…since you know I am a photographer I am really not happy with any to be truthful. Now everyone else who is reading this..don’t get mad at me. I just am finding things I would fix in the shot. Example #1 & #4 I can tell your hair is blowing around somewhat and I’d fix your collar on #1. In #2…great smile and love how bright your eyes look and like the books in background but you are to close and the bookshelf in crooked. Of course #3 is out…we don’t want to see a cob of dried corn coming out of the top of your head…lol. I would have love to did head shots for you for nothing you know! If it was family who took your shots..hope they won’t be upset at me…they did good for what they had to work with. So my choice is #4…I like what you have on and I like the front facing and your eyes look more open so you look alert and it looks like more of a professional look…even if it is outdoors! So excited for your next book!

    Reply
    • Sorry you didn’t like any of the photos, Ericka. You’re right, a photographer looks at things with a different eye.

      I know what you mean when you say, “they did good for what they had to work with, ” but unfortunately Angelina Jolie wouln’t stand in for me. ;) Maybe next time. LOL!

      Glad you’re looking forward to my new book coming out. :) And thanks for giving your opinion.

      Reply
  13. I had a hard time choosing! I think #1 and #4 look more professional, the background doesn’t distract, either.

    Reply
  14. I voted for #1, although #4 is almost a tie. I always prefer closed-mouth smiles, which I think is right for author shots. although I really didn’t like the backgrounds. I think a light colored background would do well. I could easily say these things because it’s not me in there but they’re pretty decent shots.

    happy new year!

    Reply
    • Thanks, Lissa! There’s a lot to consider when taking photos. I wasn’t going for a professional look. Many of the author photos I’ve seen ,and like, are just casual shots.The ones I’ve seen that have been professionally done feel too fake for me. That’s not who I am. I agree with you about the closed-mouth smiles. :)

      Reply
  15. Can I do a write-in? I just happened upon a really good one involving a pair of found-on-the-roadside barbeque tongs.

    Seriously though, I voted #1.

    Reply
    • I’m pretty sure I could have got a few votes for those tongs. Why is some things keep coming back to haunt us?

      Thanks for voting. :)

      Reply
  16. On second look, I think nobody noticed the photos because the printing’s too small. I mean really… all I see if colour and the shape of books. So! that means I’m off the hook, eh!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 153 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • my novels

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 60,463 hits
  • Add me

    Facebook Buttons By ButtonsHut.com

