Happy Thanksgiving to My New Best Friend

I’ve been enjoying this past little while with my newly published book. We’re good buds, don’t you know—my new best friend. It’s good company, never talks back, and I can tell it to go get lost anytime I please. It never gets offended. And if I don’t feel like talking it just sits there quietly, patiently waiting to hold my hand if need be. Books are like that. A friend to one and all. A little more so if you’re the author. But that only makes sense. Don’t you agree?

Word on the Street was great fun, the book launch totally terrific, and all the wonderful little notes and comments from folks about the book has been divine to say the least. And through it all, my book has stayed by my side. I’ve got a few interviews and book signings coming up in the next few weeks, a planned literary night in New Germany, which I’ve been invited to participate in, and a local radio station will be hosting a book giveaway (stay tuned I’ll let you know when the contest is on for anyone local and interested in getting a free copy of the book. You can never have too many books. They do make good gifts!)  Busy, busy , busy. But it’s a good busy. One I don’t mind in the least. I have to say people have been most generous and I appreciate it immensely. And so does my book, my new best friend.

Tomorrow we’ll be having a few people in for an early Thanksgiving. Monday isn’t a holiday for everyone so we celebrate a day early. I’d like to say I have so much to be grateful for, and it’s true, regardless of my newly published book. I sometimes think we don’t stop to consider all the simple things in life we have to be grateful for, that we sometimes mistakenly think that we only need to show gratitude for the big things that come our way. But that’s not so. Life is filled with simplistic moments that give us so much to be grateful, and I believe all those little moments add up to so much more in the long run. Am I grateful to have a newly published book? Of course, but there are so many “bigger” things I have to be grateful for, ”bigger” smaller things that can’t be touched or held or read, but need to be felt, and experience with the heart.

Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Happy Thanksgiving, Laura.

    Reply
  2. Books are the best of friends indeed. Happy Thanksgiving! :)

    Reply
  3. Happy Thnaksgiving to you, your family and your new best friend! We do indeed have so much to be thankful for!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 154 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • my novels

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 59,889 hits
  • Add me

    Facebook Buttons By ButtonsHut.com

