Story Update

I wasn’t sure I’d be able to pull it off but I did. The short story—– it is finished!

I’ve decided I work best under pressure for some reason. When my time is squeezed between a whole bunch of different things that seems to be when I’m more mindful of how precious time really is.  Felt good to set a goal, one that I wasn’t altogether sure I’d be able to meet, and actually get it done.

The short story is a piece I had taken out of another story a few years back titled, “There’s This Thing About Leaving,” published in the fall 2008 edition of Transition (a story within a story).

I decided to break the original story up because the editor suggested it at the time (It did make the story fairly long for publication in the magazine) and because I knew it had the potential to be a whole other story all of its own. At the time, I was sad to see that bit cut but I also understood that it made perfect sense to take it out. By adding to the original cut part I’m more than happy with the final results.

I still haven’t figured out a title for it. A few readings of the story, without trying to pick at it, and I’ll come up with something appropriate and hopefully a bit memorable. I realize that titles are important but at this point a title seems like the least of my worries. Did I mention I completed my short story?

Oh right, I guess I did.

Happy writing to you all.

What goals did you meet this week? If you’d like to share please do.

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Congratulations… good for you! There’s nothing quite like that sense of achievement when you finally finish something that’s been dragging on. Now there’s just that title… and then the querying process. I hope to be able to read it sometime soon. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks, Carol. Considering the kind of week I had, it did feel good to finally get the darn thing done. As for reading it sometime soon that will likely take some time. But at least the hard part is over.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Congratulations! And what fun to take a story from another and make it work.

    I completed no goals this week, then again, I hadn’t set any. That’s one reason why I signed up for the workshop that starts tomorrow.

    Like

    Reply
    • I’m not often one for setting goals in writing. Sometimes I have a vague sense of when I’d like to have a story done but nothing concrete. But last week I just felt it’s now or never. I didn’t have a whole lot to do to finish it up. It’ll still have to set for a time before I’m sure I don’t want to make any small editing changes.

      Good luck with the workshop. I’m sure you’ll be blogging about it and keeping us up on how it’s going.

      Like

      Reply
  3. It’s a great feeling achieving a goal isn’t it? Well done! I’m also much more productive when my writing time is squeezed between other appointments.
    In the last few weeks I’ve been regularly setting myself writing goals and it’s been going quite well. I’ve finished and pitched two articles and am most of the way through writing a third. One of the goals that I haven’t quite managed yet is to finish a short story that I began writing last year. I couldn’t think of a good ending and I just gave up on it. I really like the characters though so I want to go back and do them some justice by completing the story. Thanks for this post, you’re an inspiration!

    Like

    Reply
    • I have to agree, it does feel good to achieve a goal. Whenever I have trouble finishing a story I try not to get hung up on it. I know that sooner or later the right words will come and I’m sure the right words will come for you as well.

      It sounds as though you had a very productive few weeks!!!

      Like

      Reply
  4. Good for you, Laura! Sometimes switching to short story after writing a novel is hard!

    I didn’t really set any goals this week other than to write, edit, write, edit, write, write, and edit.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks Gayle. Getting back into a short story felt so good as it had been awhile since I’d worked on one.

      You’ve been very busy, writing and editing.

      Like

      Reply
  5. I have many goals this week and all of them involve short stories. I’m easily led astray when I see a new theme with a deadline looming. I have ten sticky notes in front of me reminding me of ten goals to reach by the 7th. I’ll be lucky to meet even one.

    Like

    Reply
    • Nothing wrong with aiming high, I say!!!!I sometimes like to start a new short story when a bright idea pops into my mind, then I go back later when things have settled down and finish it. Here’s hoping you meet at least one of your goals this week..

      Like

      Reply
      • Update: A story I submitted two hours ago was just accepted. I’m so excited now I may just meet and exceed all my goals this week.

        Like

        Reply
  6. Yay!!!!!!! Tricia.. I’m SO excited for you!!! What great news..And what a great incentive to keep writing!!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 230 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • My Novels

    Coming April 2017

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 72,965 hits
