Merry Christmas!

Nope we didn’t get a big snowstorm last night.

Maybe it’s because I’m writing a winter scene today or it could just be that I have a twisted sense of humour— I mean really snow pictures in July?

But wait, I know there are places celebrating Christmas in July. I’ve seen it in the paper.

I mentioned this just the other day. That I thought we should celebrate Christmas this month. December makes for such lousy travelling. Of course, I’m not so excited to think about Christmas shopping this time of the year or even decorating a Christmas tree. Maybe we’ll skip Christmas and I’ll just write about it instead.

But what the heck, Merry Christmas anyway!

PS: Just in case you’re wondering the photo was taken a few years ago. I’m not quite that twisted.

Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. Judi Hiltz

     /  July 6, 2010

    If Christmas is in July, what would we do for wreath money for christmas. I really don’t think the wreaths would last this time of the year. But it’s something to think about. By the way, I’m going to a “Christmas in July” card making day on the 23rd, so there you go….LOL

    Like

    Reply
    • Well, have a great time on the 23rd. I know you will. You’ll get all your Christmas cards made ahead of time. Oh. aren’t you smart?

      Like

      Reply
  2. I noticed that the date on the wintery picture shows july 15th. Is the Universe trying to tell me something? Like I’d better learn how to set the date on my camera..LOL!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Torry

     /  July 6, 2010

    We always had a week at camp that was Christmas in July. The craft we made was for another camper and we decorated trees etc….oh the memories you have brought me….

    Like

    Reply
    • I can recall making a wreath one of the years my son worked at Sherbrooke. for their Christmas in July week. Pretty cool!

      Like

      Reply
  4. Whatever it takes to get into a scene-writing mood! I visualize you typing away with a red and white Santa hat perched on your head, too, and maybe a hot toddy close at hand. LOL

    Like

    Reply
    • Carol, I actually have a Santa hat that was given to me forThe Maritime Christmas book launch. I’d most likely be holding a corona, though and my typing!!! Can you imagine? I can’t type worth crap at the best of times…LOL

      Thanks for making me laugh!

      Like

      Reply
  5. Christmas in July? I like it!
    I’m another mum who sits patiently Christmas Eve morning for the family to show up. The highways are always bad, and every year a family dies. I hate it. Good idea, Laura.

    Like

    Reply
    • A couple of years back my son came out from the city on Christmas eve in a snow storm.But he was determined to make it home. He would have been ahead of the storm if the alternator on his car hadn’t gone and he had to find someone to fix his car that morning. You’re right there would be a lot less accidents if it was in July.

      Like

      Reply
  6. I love Christmas no matter what month it’s celebrated. We sometimes have trouble driving to see our extended family during the holidays, but since my kids still live at home we haven’t had to worry about them driving anywhere on Christmas.

    Your pictures are beautiful, and refreshing to see on a day that’s sweltering hot here in Indiana.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks, Carol. I guess most of us do like Christmas, but for those of us who live in the snowy regions we’re usually a bit timid of the travel weather.

      Hope the heat subsides where you are soon. It’s not been too horrible here in Nova Scotia ,but I’m sure we’re in for a heatwave sooner or later..

      Like

      Reply
  7. Ha, this threw me for a minute, and I really did think you had some snow there! I love summer too, too much to want Christmas right this moment … I can wait, though I’m learning to love wintertime too :).

    Like

    Reply
    • Goodness, I hope we don’t get snow in July. The latest I can recall many years ago was a big snow storm in late May, but that is not common AT ALL.
      Many people tell me they love winter. I love the beauty of it, and the magic of waking up after a snow storm. I do not like travelling on bad roads or going out in the cold so much, but it is a balance. We take our likes with our dislikes and make the best of them.

      Like

      Reply
  8. Merry Christmas from the woman who hasn’t seen snow since 2000.

    I really need to head north for winter break this year.

    Like

    Reply
    • I just have to point out, Gayle, that we were the only one who wished me a Merry Christmas in return..Does this say something about our personalities? LOL!

      We usually get plenty of snow although occasionally a year comes along when we have more ice than snow. Maybe some year I can send some snow down your way.

      Like

      Reply
  9. Given that it’s nearly 100 degrees on the East Coast right now, this picture is looking pretty good. Glad I’m not wrapping Christmas presents though.

    Here in NC, we rarely get snow at Christmas so we almost always make it to our family gatherings without a hitch. And sometimes it’s 70 degrees.

    But every year we pray for snow!

    Like

    Reply
    • Hi Joyce, Thanks for visiting my blog. After replying to Carol that our weather hadn’t been so horribly hot we has a real scorcher yesterday. Maybe our hottest day this summer. I love it when our words come back to bite us. I did try not to complain.

      Wow! 70 degrees at Christmas time.That would certainly be different.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 233 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • My Novels

    Coming April 2017

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 73,402 hits
