Give a Used Book a Home

By the look of the crowd today at the local library sale I’d have to say that people are definitely reading. Good news for writers! The library has a sale a few times a year and I usually try to make it. It’s hard to keep writers away from books. The two go hand in hand. If you’re serious about writing you have to read too. It’s that simple.

To my delight I found a book written by Tim Wynne-Jones. I thought it was odd because, until my friend sent me the link to his writing tips, I hadn’t heard of him.( See my earlier post, Hey, Look at me I’m published, to get the link to these tips.) I am constantly amazed at the wonderful surprises the Universe has to offer. A few weeks ago I likely would not have even noticed this book at the sale. I would have walked away without giving it a sideways glance. With the thousands of books there, not only on tables but also in boxes on the floor, it’s a wonder I even noticed. Now I get to check this author out, see if his fiction is as good as the writing tips he offers. Yay me! (Okay I have to admit, I started Tim’s book on the way home–It’s a forty-five minute drive, and no, I wasn’t driving thank you– and I’m really enjoying it. 🙂 )

I found some books for Miss Charlotte, hubby got about twelve, and I came home with nine of my own. All you could stog in a bag for five bucks! I just love that word, stog.

I couldn’t help but think about my own book ending up on a table like this one day. Seemed a bit sad in one respect and yet hopefully, if it does, someone who enjoys books as much as I do, perhaps someone who couldn’t otherwise afford to purchase it new, will find it and give it a wonderful home.

My wish is that all the books at the sale ended up going home with some reader. But let’s face it some of them must end up in a dumpsters eventually. I don’t even like to think that way and yet…..

How about you have you given a used book a good home lately? Do you look for good deals at library or used books sales in your area?

Leave a comment

20 Comments

  1. Glad you had fun at the library sale…thanks for promoting buying used books!

    Here’s a post I did on book sales last spring:

    http://writerwoman61.wordpress.com/2010/05/05/scanning-for-gold-at-book-sales/

    Wendy

    Like

    Reply
  2. I just unloaded a van full of books at the library. I’ve been snatching up used books for years now. It was time for me to give some back.

    Like

    Reply
    • You make a good pint, Tricia, taking our used books and donating them for books sales is a great way to get rid of books we don’t plan to read again. I have some favourites I wouldn’t part with as I’m sure everyone else does, but I also like to thin the numbers down every now and again. I keep remembering this show on Oprah one time where the guy hoarded books. He hardly had a place to lie down as he even had them on his bed.

      Like

      Reply
  3. I usually pass books on to my friends or family after reading them. Sometimes I keep them, but it just seems like books beg for readers, not shelves. Blessings to you, Laura…

    Like

    Reply
  4. We just opened a little library in our tiny town here, Laura. Once a year, our library sponsors a used book sale in one of the churches. People donate books and buy books and it’s a win-win situation for everyone.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Hi Laura! So glad you found soem treasures at the book sale. I believe books find us. I was at a garage sale a few years ago when I found a book I had been looking for for a long time (and it was only 25 cents) Another time I discovered a used book store tucked away down an alleyway in England and spotted a book I had been looking for over 5 years. We have a huge book sale every year at the local Kinsmen Centre amd I always come home with a bag full of books. One can often find books at these events that are out of print or hard to get elsewhere. You are so right – writers are readers. Another happy used book buyer, Darlene

    Like

    Reply
    • I loved reading about your finds. It’s such a wonderful feeling when we find a book that is difficult to get and one we’ve been looking for. One never knows what is awaiting them at a used book sale!

      Like

      Reply
  6. A bit off the point — and a bit offbeat — but I think it’s happened to us all. Not long after my book went up on Amazon, the ink barely dry from the first bookstore signing, and Revenge of the Lobster Lover was on offer on-line as a “used” copy, selling for considerably more than the new. Huh? Because it was a first edition? They were all first editions.

    Like

    Reply
    • Wow! It would be nice if the ink had time to dry. I see these used books all the time on Amazon. I guess some people just want to read them and pass them along. I have mixed feeling about this. I hope I don’t come across my book at a sale for a number of years. Curiously, I wonder if I would be tempted to buy it. LOL!

      Like

      Reply
  7. Except for books from my writer friends, like yourself, my house is packed with used books. I’m even trying to downsize and have a box filled with books for the thrift shop. I just wish I could sit and read all day. I find reading so inspiring. But alas, I have to get up and move about or my rear end threatens to spread larger and larger. Which reminds me, wouldn’t it be kewl if you could take a book, plug it in and listen as you do dishes?

    Like

    Reply
    • Mum used to liste to books before she had her cataract surgery, but to be honest it’s bot the same as reading. She used to complain that her mind would wander and the first thing there would be parts missing from the story. I can’t laugh at her because I know I’d be the same way, too.

      Used books are a great deal for writers as we need to be constantly reading. Truthfully, I purchase a lot of new books as well.

      Like

      Reply
  8. I have a really hard time passing on books, even those I didn’t really like!

    Like

    Reply
    • I hear ya! I’ve had to force myself to relinquish some in the past. It’s not an easy thing to do especially if I bought them new.

      Like

      Reply
  9. Lynn

     /  February 6, 2011

    I have been to very few used book sales, but my personal library grew each time. 🙂 I love books! Having a grandson meant that the last sale I visited allowed me to leave with books to have here for him, which he enjoyed almost as much as I did! haha yes, I do love books.

    Oh, giving them away is not easy to do. I have, but not often enough. Because .. did I mention .. I love books!
    Of course, loving them enough to give them to someone else to enjoy is the next step.

    Like

    Reply
    • I was discussing that very thing with Mel today and told her that we’d probably have to get a bookcase for Miss Charlotte to have books here for her. She though that was a great idea and would mean she wouldn’t have to bring a whole library with them when they came. 🙂

      And yes, Lynn, I’ve heard that you LOVE books. Not sure where I heard it, though. 😉

      Like

      Reply
  10. I’m always on the look out for books — in stores, library sales and yard sales. I try and think positively, that these books are offered to new readers who will cherish them, not simply thrown out without a chance for a second life.

    Over the years, I’ve picked up several treasures, including a few westerns published in the early 1900s.

    Like

    Reply
    • What I like about the book sales is not knowing what’s awating us. I found a whole bunch of Canadian YA novels last summer at a sle. I was I heaven.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 236 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • My Novels

    Coming April 2017

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 74,220 hits
