Has Spring Arrived in Nova Scotia?

We’ve come through winter, at least the worst of it, I hope.

Here are a few shots my husband took this morning. The sight of robins on the 12th of March is a welcomed sight here in my little corner of the province. This is indeed an early sign of spring.

Although it appears that the snow is almost gone, these pictures are bit deceiving. Snow continues to lurk in the woods, clinging to the shaded areas, fighting to survive. It is not ready to give up yet. I live in a unique area of the province were, a mere twenty minute drive away, the fields are all but bare. I think we are the last in this province to lose our snow every year.

Are there any signs of spring where you live?

Leave a comment

26 Comments

  1. Tirry

     /  March 13, 2011

    Hubby saw a “pair” of eagles near Specticle Lake ….Is that a sign of spring?

    Like

    Reply
    • I love seeing eagles.I can remember how scarce they were when I was young. We seldom ever saw any. Now they are everywhere. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  2. Marie

     /  March 13, 2011

    Just back from walking, a mud coated doggie, now, that’s a sign of spring!

    Like

    Reply
  3. We haven’t seen robins yet, but the deer have come out of the woods! The rain has melted most of our snow, but I’m not holding my breath…we usually get a big storm around St. Patrick’s Day!

    Wendy

    Like

    Reply
    • Ah, no storms on St. Patrick’s Day, please… It will take some time before all of our snow is gone although I saw in the news last week people out golfing down Yarmouth way.

      Like

      Reply
  4. It depends where we look. In town the snow is gone and grass is green; out in our rural area the last of the snow was washed away only two days ago. No robins, but Snowdrops blooming in abundance… I’d be celebrating them, but usually they’re blooming late in January and all through February, so they’re late this year like everything else. At least we didn’t get as much snow this winter as we did in 2008 and 2009. I’m thankful for that.

    Like

    Reply
    • I saw snowdrops on Jodi Delong’s blog today. They were beautiful!

      I can’t even begin to imagine what it would be like to see flowers blooming in January or February.

      In the area of the province we live in we probably won’t see crocuses until April. Ah well. I’m just glad to have the beautiful sunshine. These past few days have been wonderful.

      Like

      Reply
  5. Yes, it was a lot of questions, but my mind was on the Google reader from the moment you mentioned it, wondering what it was. Don’t try to tell me — I’ll go check it out.

    What I will say is that I’m impressed by the number of comments your get on your blog — not all do, no matter how they try. Even a communal effort, like Mystery Maven is hard put sometimes to get comments.

    It must be your sun ny personality! (And, actually, I’m not kidding.)

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks Hilary. I’m grateful to all the people who leave comments. For me, blogging would definitely lose it’s appeal if I wasn’t able to get to know some of my blog readers. Everyone I *meet* is so friendly. I feel most fortunate. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  6. I LOVE robins! I miss them here in the south. The Great Lakes states have robins. A pair of robins stopped in our courtyard on their way south for the winter last fall, but they traveled on.

    Here the dogwood trees are in bloom. I keep waiting to see buds on the trees outside our window. Most trees around us have already budded, at least. Blessings to you, Laura…

    Like

    Reply
    • I think most people feel the same way you do about robins, Carol Ann. Perhaps it is because they signify to us that winter is all but gone. I love watching for the first signs of spring. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  7. Not a sign to be seen. Boo hoo.

    Like

    Reply
  8. My sign was a Downy woodpecker drumming on a tree. It was just making a heck of a noise for such a pint-sized bird. People up and down the street were craning their necks to get a look at this little guy.

    Thanks for this great blog. I read everyone’s posting and it was like reading a poem. So much yearning for spring!

    Like

    Reply
    • Hi Laurie. Thanks for dropping in and for commenting. I think we are all more than anxious for the arrival of spring.

      I’m waiting for the first signs of flowers in my area. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  9. Beautiful pictures of the robin. The birds are so nice to see at the end of the winter.

    Spring was here yesterday and we were out cleaning up the hen house. But today . . . it is winter again.

    Like

    Reply
    • It’s back to cold and a few flurries for today, but at least we know that regardless, spring is very handy. Looking forward to seeing some other signs in this area.

      Like

      Reply
  10. oh robins!! I haven’t seen my first here yet.
    Mountains of snow still, but it’s starting to melt….

    Like

    Reply
    • Our snow is fast disappearing, Jennifer. Today we’re back to cooler temperatures. This is the time of year when nature likes to try and trick us into thinking that spring has arrived. Tricky old Mother Nature. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

      Reply
  11. I overheard a woman saying she saw a groundhog this morning! Hopefully that is promising! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    Reply
  12. The birds are starting to sing here in the mornings (Pittsburgh, PA). I know it’s truly spring when their singing gets so loud that it wakes me up at the crack of dawn. When I lived in California, I would be woken up by traffic noise. Here, I’m woken up by birds.

    Like

    Reply
    • I love waking to the sound of birds in the morning, especially those summer mornings before the sun has cme up.

      Not a lot of traffic out where I live. We’d be almost as likely to hear a powersaw running than traffic.

      Like

      Reply
  13. I’m late commenting but here is my take on it. Birds. I love it when their song is sweeter and louder and more insistent. That is a great sign of Spring, they always seem to know something we haven’t noticed yet about it. Then when they start chasing one another around you know they are pairing up and beginning nest building.
    I didn’t see any robins at the time of your post, but a little later I saw two or three on my lawn. Soon after that a small flock of ’em arrived. Robins have been the sign I most look for, but this year the songbirds beat them to it.

    Like

    Reply
    • As they say, “Better late than never.” I believe this is the earliest I remember seeing robins out here. Spring usually drags her heels when coming to Dalhousie. I often think how lovely the Valley is and how much earlier spring arrives there. It must be wonderful!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 232 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • My Novels

    Coming April 2017

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 72,673 hits
