Vintage Fashions

As a writer of historical fiction I jumped at the chance to attend a vintage fashion show this weekend at the Forties Settlement. Writing about a certain time in history sometimes requires a writer to research the fashions of the era being written about. What better way to get a sense of the fashions then by seeing them first hand?

I always enjoyed looking through vintage catalogues long before I ever started writing historical fiction. This show consisted of fashions from the 1920’s through to the 1980’s.

Lots of beautiful hats.

Pretty in Pink

The fashions in many of the photos came from one lady’s collection. I can’t image saving my clothes that long, but thankfully, for the rest of us, there are people around who do.

In the late 1800’s a couple in New Ross were married wearing this next attire. Seems more fitting for a funeral, but trust me they wore it when they exchanged their wedding vows. Getting married in black symbolized that you will remain faithful to your husband until death. So there you go! Bet you didn’t know that.

Okay, this photo is clearly dessert, but what better way to end this post. Enjoy!

The biggest hit of the day!

Leave a comment

21 Comments

  1. Thanks for the great pictures Laura. I love vintage clothing and this looks like it was a great collection. It is fun to do this kind of research for sure. The dessert looks pretty good too.

    Like

    Reply
    • Glad you enjoyed the photos,Darlene. Vintage clothing is wonderful. I especially love the hats. I’m not a hat-wearing person, but sometimes wish I was. The dessert was scrumptious! Wish you could have been there.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Melanie

     /  April 2, 2011

    That dessert looks damn good.

    Interesting about the wedding attire, I didn’t know that. Did you know that back then baby boys wore pink and baby girls wore blue? Wikipedia says this was tradition until the 1940s! It’s funny how ideas change.

    Like

    Reply
    • Oh yeah, the dessert was gooood!

      I was really surprised to discover they would wear black for a wedding. I’m not sure when white became the traditional color, but one lady modelled her wedding suit from back fifty years or so (Yup still fit her) and it was navy blue. That, I wasn’t surprised over because I knew at one time that buying a suit (jacket and skirt) was common.

      Hmmm. Nope I didn’t know about the colours for babies. I wonder why/how it got reversed. Pink for a boy? Maybe it would have made for less bullyng in the world.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Oh, I can see why you went. What spectacular clothing. Reminds me of my mother and her sisters during the war. And those hats — they’re fabulous. But the dessert! OMG. I have to go to bed now and save myself. Thanks, Laura!

    Like

    Reply
    • Yes, the clothing was quite something.Different items were also modeled which was nice. One very tiny woman came out with a beautiful dress on that we were told was a size 16. I guess it’s easy to see that not only have styles changes but the sizes have definitely changed as well. I hope you didn’t dream about that fabulous dessert all night long. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  4. I love looking at vintage clothing, too. Clothes meant so much more “back in the day” as people had so few items of clothing. Because I’m a Frenchy’s shopper, my clothes are in the door one month, and out to the Flower Cart as soon as I stop wearing them. There was a store on Barrington St. a few years back, Junk & Foibles; I don’t think I ever bought anything, but I used to go in just to look and do a “I had one of those” kind of thing. Fun!

    Like

    Reply
    • It was clear to see that these outfits were not everyday clothing worn at the time, but were saved because they were bought for special occasions.We take clothing so much more for granted these days then in years gone by. As you say there are Frenchy stores all over the place and that’s where many people shop these days.

      Like

      Reply
  5. How styles have changed. Amazing. Thank you for sharing this walk back in history. I have to admit that I am most tantalized by the biggest hit of the day, the delicious dessert. Some things never change. Blessings to you, Laura…

    Like

    Reply
    • Yeah, that dessert was something special. What I didn’t mention was a choir also came up from Chester and sang songs from the 20’s, 30’s, 40’s, 50, and 60’s all dressed up in vintage clothing as well. They were excellent. Maybe even better than the dessert. 😉

      Like

      Reply
  6. I love old stuff: clothing, books, houses, etc. I buy most of my clothes in consignment stores.

    That dessert looks amazing…was it blueberry cheesecake?

    Wendy

    Like

    Reply
    • You certainly would have had a great time, Wendy. I’m sure of it. I sat with a group of Red Hatters from Dalhousie. It was a great time. I even got to see the original wedding licence from the couple who were married in those black outfits. Pretty neat!

      Like

      Reply
  7. Black for a wedding? How fitting. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  8. Tis a wonder that black isn’t more popular for weddings these days. 😉 I’d be interested to know when white became the tradition. I might have to google that and find out.

    Like

    Reply
  9. I think we should all wear hats again. Hats are awesome.

    Like

    Reply
    • I like hats , but never wear them. There’s something quite stylish about them. I can remember the day when woman all had to wear hats to church.

      Like

      Reply
  10. Love the hats. I got invited to a “hat luncheon” in May and I found an old vintage hat that I plan to wear. Usually one buys a hat to go with an outfit but now I have to find an outfit to go with the hat!

    Like

    Reply
  11. Thank you, this was delightful. I love the hats…wish it was more fashionable these days to wear them.

    Like

    Reply
    • I have a friend who often wears hats. She pulls it off quite nicely. Funny, how most of us who love hats rarely wear one ourselves.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 237 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • My Novels

    Coming April 2017

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 75,143 hits
