Update

Revisions are moving right along, and I’m happy with the progress I’m making. I have another week before I start back to work so I’m hoping to make good use of my writing time. The story I’m working on has surprised even me. But I’ve got a good-sized shovel and I’m digging in deep.

In the meantime I’ve had a few distraction. As I mentioned we had company over the July 1st weekend.

And yes they each caught a fish in that mess of reeds.

Made a trip to the Look Off in Scott’s Bay. What a beautiful view looking down into the Annapolis Valley.

A writer friend opened up her garden to the public over the long weekend. She also lives in Scott’s Bay so we stopped into her open house. What beautiful gardens.

Had a barbeque with friends, saw a deer standing in the field. Even managed to fit in a trip to town for groceries and a stop off at the nursing home.

In between all these things I’ve been stealing a little reading time— not as much as I’d like to be I’m getting there.

I do have a bit of a beef with this book though. I can’t get in as much reading time as I’d like.I want to get to the ending, and see what’s going to happen. If you like reading YA and adventure chances are you’ll enjoy Reckless Endeaver. There’s more about Dave and his books on his site. Congratulations on your new book, Dave. May you will find as much success with this book as you did your first.

Now back to Dave’s book revisions.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

18 Comments

  1. 1959duke

     /  July 4, 2011

    If these pictures are your distactions then I’ll take them anytime!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Good luck with your revisions Laura. It is nice to see that you were able to balance some leisure activities with your revising. The pictures are great. Would love to visit your firend’s graden. Fabulous!

    Like

    Reply
    • It is a beautiful garden. So much love and care is evident. I’m not sure I’d have the patience. I like growing things but digging in the dirt–not so much.

      Like

      Reply
  3. I’ve been reading a lot lately, too, making up for lost time. I’ll get back to writing, in addition to blog posts, soon. I’m glad to hear that your work is progressing! Good for you, Laura.

    Like

    Reply
    • When all else fails, turn to a good book I like to say. Well, that’s actually the first time I said it, but it’s true. Glad to hear you’ll be back to writing soon. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  4. Glad to hear your revisions are going well, and that you also found time to enjoy a bit of the holiday weekend, too. Love the pictures — that’s quite a view!

    And you’re a step ahead of me on the reading front. Reckless Endeavor is now sitting on the top of my TBR pile but I haven’t been able to get to it quite yet. Soon! Am just finishing Billy Coffey’s Snow Day. And to think I’ve just ordered Joylene’s new book. I am NEVER going to get caught up. LOL!

    Like

    Reply
    • I’m sure you’ll enjoy Reckless Endeavor. There’s lots of action in this one. I hate not being able to read a good book quickly. I even took it with me on our drive out to Scott’s Bay. I’m nearing the end though.

      Like

      Reply
  5. With all that beauty, who wouldn’t be distracted? If you got one word written/revised, I’d say you had an exceptionally successful weekend. I’m looking forward to getting some reading done, soon I hope.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks Patti. We never seem to be happy with the things we accomplish only gripe about the things we didn’t accomplish. Why is that?

      Like

      Reply
  6. Madison Woods

     /  July 5, 2011

    Thanks for sharing your diversion with me 🙂 I had a good weekend of diversions, but still feel like I got a lot done. Even though none of it was directly related to the writing, getting them done freed up my mind so I can get back to editing tonight.

    That sure is a nice looking pond/lake!

    Like

    Reply
    • You’re most welcome, Madison. Sometimes having a few diversions is refreshing. We need a break from time to time. So often the “real world” is filled with matters that need attending to.

      The picture is of the lake that is on our property. Not so good for swimming in but great for fishing and boating.. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  7. What gorgeous pictures. Those two little girls are adorable. I’ll check out the YA book. That’s my fave!

    Like

    Reply
    • My nieces are very precious. They entertained us for two days.. 🙂

      Yes, I’m sure the YA book interests you.

      Like

      Reply
  8. The photograph is beautiful. I have a copy of Dave’s book and hope to read it soon. And I’m also digging in and hope to finish the sequel to Broken. I need a housekeeper, then I’ll be set. LOL.

    Like

    Reply
    • Joylwne, I bet Dave complete understands. You’ve been a bit busy what with your book coming out and al the signings and promotion. Wheeeeeeee!

      Like

      Reply
  9. So glad you had a chance to visit (and while I still had a voice, too). Now that you know where we are…come again anytime!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 237 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • My Novels

    Coming April 2017

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 75,143 hits
