On the Subjects of Hope & Writing

A writer is a writer not because she writes well and easily, because she has amazing talent, because everything she does is golden. In my view, a writer is a writer because even when there is no hope, even when nothing you do shows any sign of promise, you keep writing anyway.” ~ Junot Diaz

 

When I first read this quote I fell in love with it. In fact, it inspired me to write a blog post for A Hopeful Sign..There a new post up for anyone who is interested.  Come on over and say hi. I’ll meet you over there!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Wonderful quote with a powerful message. I wish every author would take note of it. I meet so many new writers who are full of doubts. Just like we were back when. Thanks, Laura. I’m off to visit you at “A Hopeful Sign”.

    Like

    Reply
  2. I love the quote and the photo of the hummingbird.

    Like

    Reply
    • Both are very nice. I found the hummingbird hovering in one of my computer files, out there by my son many moons ago. I love it. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  3. oooo I like that quote. Thanks for sharing it.

    Like

    Reply
  4. I love that quote, too. And I’m popping over to A HOPEFUL SIGN now. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • I really like it too. See you over at a Hopeful Sign. 🙂

      PS. Nice to have you come visit. I’ve missed you… 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  5. Laurie Elmquist

     /  March 10, 2012

    Thanks for the quote, Laura! Yesterday I met with my writing group and all of us had the same story to tell: five rejections from Canada Council. But nonetheless, we took out our notebooks and our pens and we wrote because we’re writers.

    Like

    Reply
    • I thought it was a great quote when I came across it.As for the Canada Council, it seems next to impossible to get recieve a grant. Thruth is, I haven’t thought of submitting there in a very long time.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 229 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • My Novels

    Coming April 2017

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 72,383 hits
