Something in the Middle of Nowhere

We never really know what we’ll stumble across during our travels, or exactly where that path is leading us. Sometimes we just need to have faith that the path we’re heading down will eventually lead us to where we need to be. Sometimes the getting there is a bit scary and the path filled with rocks and hummocks. Still, we keep going because standing in one spot won’t get us anywhere. Guaranteed.

Writers often speak of the path we’re on, but the truth is we’re all on a path not just writers. We all face obstacles that can either hinder our travels or help us along the way, things we never expected to find. With that said, it’s always up to us to either use these obstacles to our advantage, ignore them completely, or we can choose to allow them to hold us back. I’m not saying it’s easy.  We all know that it can be darn tough by times.

Here’s a little something I found the other day deep in the woods, the middle of nowhere really. As I stood looking at this cabin my writer’s brain couldn’t stop me from dreaming, imagining, and placing my character right in the middle of it all. This is where I found her voice. Scenarios came rushing to me, and I knew immediately I would be able to put them to good use.

The problem sometimes with this is that while I’m in the moment, ideas flow freely; excitement builds as sentences and dialogue come form in my mind. I could write many, many words if only I were writing. Later, as I try and recreate these scenes on paper those moments feel a bit lost. It takes awhile to get them back. This is why I carry my camera with me most of the time. Having a photo is second best to actually being there.

Just for fun, and because the weekends coming up, (whatever that would have to do with it) can you come up with a line or two or even three to go with this photo? Make me laugh, make me cry, make me wonder what the heck..I’m just in that kind of mood today…I’ll see you on Monday…Enjoy your weekend..:)

 

Leave a comment

20 Comments

  1. I have always been conscious of wondering about the path I traveled. Was I walking aimlessly ? Was it well planned ? Were my feet going too fast or too slow ? Was it my path or one planned for me ? Right or wrong direction ? But approaching 63 I at least know it was the path for me to be where I am now and what I have become as a result. What was supposed to be is. .

    Like

    Reply
    • Carl, I think whatever path we’re on is the right one and eventually it will get us to where we want/need to be. The detours sometimes makes life a bit more interesting is all.. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  2. Bare trees ensnared the tiny cabin like many spider webs….

    Like

    Reply
  3. When I thought about the cabin, I only remembered the corners, the ones where I’d crouched in fear. Or on a happier note: I never dreamt it would still be standing after all these decades, but then, if my great aunt’s diary was right, this simple weathered cabin was magic.

    Like

    Reply
  4. fivecats

     /  May 5, 2012

    Nice find off the the beaten path.

    My three lines …

    “As many times I walked the woods, it’s strange I’ve never seen the cabin before … until this walk. While it piqued my curiosity and I wanted to explore, it would have to wait for another day. Until then, the photo of the hidden cabin would have to suffice.”

    Or …

    Though I never saw this cabin on my many walks through the woods, I decided to take advantage of the afternoon’s waning light. My heart was pounding as I opened the cabin’s door.

    “Hello,” I said softly. “Anybody here?”

    Like

    Reply
    • Very nice. The second really made me quite curious.. Thanks for being a good sport..Hope you had fun. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  5. Oh Laura, this photo got my mind wheeling 🙂
    There’s been this story that keeps coming back to me, a premise for a novel that I’ve been ignoring–I have enough on my plate! And here, this photo led to it as well…

    My home is here. Most likely you won’t see it, won’t see me. Hidden in the surroundings, in the vastness, I wait, I hide, I remain. For all stories lead here, to me. If you look closely, you will see, there is something in the middle of nothing.

    🙂

    I had to put something down by fly after this photo made such an impression on me!
    I have been very vulnerable to inspiration lately!

    Like

    Reply
    • So glad the photo was a source of inspiration for you. Love your sentences. Thanks for sharing them.. You know sometimes we just have to go in the direction we’re being lead even though our logical mind says otherwise..:)

      Like

      Reply
  6. I ducked behind the bush and spied on the man. He was rugged but handsome…but where did he come from and why was he here? Then it struck me; this was old man Jenkin’s home. I hadn’t been here in more than than two decades. Then…could this must be his son? The man who I had ogled all through high school, the boy who stole my heart…and fathered my only child?

    Yes, a camera is the perfect way to capture a scene. I also often carry with me my MP3 player (not an iPod; can’t afford one of them) and it has the ability to record my voice, so if a story line, character or plot strikes me, I can record it for later.

    Great photo. I love little places like this in the middle of nowhere. I’ve been to many over the years.

    PS: Love the new design.

    Like

    Reply
    • Interesting how one little photo can spur so many different ideas. You guys are all so creative and such good sports. Your lines are quite mysterious if I must say. I guess it makes sense since you’ve been known to write mysteries…:)

      I also like the new design. I had access to highspeed last evening and thought I’d check out some of the new themes..This one caught my eye.

      Like

      Reply
  7. Laura, the new design is lovely, this post is intriguing … the path I chose did not do always bring me to what I wanted … instead it guided me to what I needed.

    “Her grandfather had built the old cabin for the men to use each hunting season. She was certain all those who knew were now gone. Three days of travel, leaving a false trail and changing cars twice and she was almost home. She found a clearing in the woods, hid the Jeep and hiked the last three miles. It would be cold and hard, but not as cold and hard as what she had escaped.”

    Like

    Reply
    • I also like the new design..Wordpess is coming out with some fresh new themes all the time.. That’s exactly true that what we want and what we need are often two different things.. I’ve also noticed that..:)

      Great lines from you as well…You guys are all so creative and such great sports I might add. I’ve enjoyed this. Thanks!

      Like

      Reply
  8. Drat … sorry for the typo … “did not always bring me …”

    Like

    Reply
    • No worries about typos on this blog. I like to throw them in from time to time to keep things interesting. 😉

      Like

      Reply
  9. The kids thought they were the only ones who knew about the cabin in the forest. It was their secret meeting place. A place to escape from their chores and the adults. A place to share secrets and dreams. Until the day they found out they weren’t the only ones who visited the cabin…………..

    Like

    Reply
  1. Writing Prompts for June « The Wright Words

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 232 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • My Novels

    Coming April 2017

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 73,806 hits
