Which Photo?

I was pleasantly surprised by the response I received from my last post about the author photos —not only from people voting directly on my blog, using the voting system I set up, but those of you who posted your preference in the comments on Facebook. I’m assuming some people did both! It’s nice to know so many of you took the time to check out the photos and to vote for the one you liked best. I appreciate it!

It’s probably no surprise to my facebook friends to learn that an overwhelming amount of you liked photo #2 best as many of you said so in the comments. Many of you said you liked my smile and the books in the background. I liked the photo as well. (I was surprised that no one pointed out the title of a couple of books on my shelf. I thought someone would be more observant! ) So, I liked #2 but I also liked all four photos for different reasons. It was why I picked them as potential photos. Second choice, among those who voted, seemed to be very close between #4 and  #1. In fourth place was #3. No surprise there as a few people pointed out that it looked as though I had corn growing out of my head. And at least one person expressed a dislike for all of them for a variety of reasons.

We all have different opinions, and I believe these differences are a good thing. It helps us consider new ideas that we might not have otherwise have thought of.

Okay so, none of the photos were picture perfect, but I wasn’t looking for perfection. What I was looking for was a photo that I was happy with. One where I didn’t have a stunned look on my face, or my mouth contorted in an odd way, or wrinkles jumping off the page. Anyone’s who has ever had a photo taken for promotional purposes understands exactly what I mean. And while my very first inclination was to choose the one that many people liked best, I recalled my high school graduation photo and how I took the opinion of others instead of ordering the one I liked best. I was never happy with the photo. It’s packed away some place in the attic.

 Which photo did I submit?

The photo I submitted ended up being  #1. It was the one I liked best from the start and I decided to stick with my first preference. I almost swayed with so many of you choosing #2, but in the end, I decided it was more important for me to be happy with the photo than to choose the one I thought would make the most people happy. We don’t always know why we pick one thing over another, we just do. It’s like asking someone why they like green and not blue.

So there you have it. Again, I thank all of you for voting. I hope you had as much fun with it as I did.  🙂

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. #1 is a great picture as well and would have been my second choice. I liked #2 partly because of the books in the background. You are so right, it has to be your choice in the end.

    Like

    Reply
  2. I’m glad you went with #1 Laura. The bookshelves in the background of the other one weren’t level and it all just looked a little offkilter (I have no idea how to spell that.) Glad your new year is off to such a nice start. All the best, Heather

    Like

    Reply
    • Interesting enough, I noticed the unlevel bookshelf. While the shelf in my office is straight, it certainly doesn’t look to be in the photo. I guess it was the way I was standing. I also thought there was too much going on in the background especially since the photo will be really small once it’s put on the back of the book,

      Happy New Year, Heather, and thank you for following along. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  3. Good decision, Laura.

    Like

    Reply
  4. I am not on facebook or any of that stuff. WordPress or gmail only way I can support.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Interesting to see your process on picking your pic. And going with the one YOU like best is definitely the best strategy. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  6. Laura, if you’re happy with #1 then I’m happy with #1. Either way, you look stunning and professional, even with the corn growing out of your head. I’m struck dumb that I didn’t notice the books. But you know why? Because I was too enthralled with your eyes.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks, Joylene! I was kind of getting used to the corn, though.. Seriously, once the photo is shrunk down to an inch maybe it wouldn’t even look like corn.. lol!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 236 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • My Novels

    Coming April 2017

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 74,190 hits
