Making Progress and Growing Tulips

Awhile back I mentioned that I was through with the book edits. That was true…Sort of. Once the editing was completed it went for proofreading. From there the proofreader had a few tiny suggestions. Actually, a few words here and there that required my okay. Basically, your run-of-the-mill piece of cake. So small, in fact, it hardly counts at least not in my (pardon the pun) book! Sorry, couldn’t help myself.

You might remember that I mentioned the book isn’t due out until fall, so why the rush with the edits? At least that’s what I thought. So I mentioned in passing to my editor how things seemed to be moving along very quickly. (I’d been through this before and I recall working on the edits well into August before it went to the proof-reader.) Aah! but apparently there was a reason for this. My book has gone to the printers!  That is to say, Advanced Reading Copies are being printed. Yes, that’s right! I’m thrilled. This way the book will be sent to reviewers and bookstores before it actually comes out. A bit of a jump start. The book will go through one more proofreading before it goes to print “for real.” I’ll also have a read through and, hopefully, all typos will be caught!

But for now I can go back to the novel I was working on this winter, something that I’m anxious to do. Juggling work and writing and editing is a bit tricky, but until I get that million dollar publishing contract I quess I’ll be working for a living. Okay, so I’m being greedy. It really wouldn’t take a million dollar contract to persuade me to write full time…..but close!

The tulips Miss Charlotte helped Guppy plant two years ago are blooming. I snapped a photo. Oddly enough, I mentioned to my husband that I thought they were a light purple last year. Looking back at a photo I posted on FB last year, I saw that my memory hadn’t failed me. I’m supposing  the purple ones haven’t opened up yet and that explains the red. If not, those tuilps have some explaining to do.

DSC03652

 

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. Laura, sounds like you are busy with the stuff we all want to be busy with 🙂 And maybe the tulips were playing footsie underground this winter 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • I don’t know what’s going on with the tulips, Florence. Some look as though they are going to be yellow. Dang fickle tulips.. 😉

      Like

      Reply
  2. cluculzwriter

     /  May 11, 2013

    Wow, that is quick. Probably a good thing you asked. LOL. Looking forward to reading this next one, Laura. Very happy for you.

    Like

    Reply
  3. christicorbett

     /  May 11, 2013

    Congratulations! Looking forward to your next book!

    Christi Corbett

    Like

    Reply
  4. Things are sailing right along…congrats!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Judi

     /  May 12, 2013

    Happy Sailing……I guess I’m going to have to get my eyes tested again sooner than I thought. I’m not seeing real well at this time, so if your book is soon going to be in the book stores, I guess I had better get into my boat and sail to the eye doctor…..Congrat’s…Laura. Looking forward to reading my second book….LOL

    Like

    Reply
    • Unfortunately, advanced reading copies are NOT for sale. While they get sent out before the release, they aren’t available for purchase by the general public. That means, you’re in the clear for a few months.. lol!

      Like

      Reply
  6. “Guppy” is one of the best nicknames I’ve heard!

    My “early spring” tulips have bloomed and gone, and my “late spring” tulips bloomed last week so they’ll probably go bye-bye soon too. Sure love tulips but they don’t stick around very long (at least not in my soil and Ohio, USA weather).

    Like

    Reply
    • Funny, she came up with that all on her own. I’m “Nenny” even though my daughter brought her up to say, “Nanny.” Funny how they come up with these things. The rest of my tupils are now blooming and they are yellow, not a purple/mauve one to be seen. I think the bees mix them up when they get pollinated. I remember my aunt’s dahlia’s all turning yellow from one year to the next. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  7. Getting the ARCs out earlier should mean the buzz starts sooner, which is always a good thing. 🙂 Looking forward to it!

    I hear tulips can change colour for a variety of reasons… stress from extreme weather, deficiencies in the soil, etc. At least red and yellow tulips are cheerful. DH gave me a big bouquet of the two colours for Mother’s Day.

    Like

    Reply
    • Here’s to buzz, and not just from the bees. Thanks for the tulip info. I just assumed the bees soehow cross pollinated them. I love the red and yellow. They are nice. I was just surprised not to see the mauve and half wondered if my memory was slipping. Good things we have photos to look back on. Tulips for Mother’s Day is just lovely! They’re so pretty.

      Like

      Reply
  8. That’s interesting about the tulips. Good news on your book!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 230 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • My Novels

    Coming April 2017

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 72,930 hits
