The Power of Harmony—Book Launch

Last Saturday we headed off to Wolfville in the beautiful Annapolis Valley to attend the book launch for my good friend, and writing pal, Jan Coates’ new book, “The Power of Harmony.” Okay, so the weather could have been nicer that day, but many great events happen in the wake of some nasty weather.

 DSC03724I’d never been to this charming little bookstore, and I have to say it was a real treat. It’s called “Box of Delights.” What a  wonderful name for a bookstore. Don’t you think? Look, there’s Jan’s book in the window. Cool!

DSC03725

As you can see, Jan’s book is in good company, finding a spot on the shelf right beside “The Hunger Games.” I take this as a sign of good things to come. Let’s not forget, her last book, A Hare in the Elephant’s Trunk, was short listed for the Governor General Award. How mind boggling is that?

 DSC03716Here’s Jan looking all authorish and serious while discussing her new book.

DSC03720

 Happy birthday to The Power of Harmony, may this book live a long and prosperous life.  To find out more about Jan and her books you can check out her blog right here. 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. I wish Jan all the best with her new book. Looks like another winner to me.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Happy Launch Day to her!! What a neat little bookstore, too. It’s nice to see there are still some indies surviving. People like you and Jan help keep them open.

    Like

    Reply
    • It’s a real delight, and the name is SO fitting. It’s nice to see these little bookstore surviving in this day and age. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  3. That is a wonderful name for a book store. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    Reply
  4. I scrutinize reads this topic and my 100 cartoon book is finally getting under way with createspace/amazon. A huge problem for me has been gutters(margins) set up. With text there is one set up and text congruent every page every margin. With my cartoons every image if different size and variation square and rectangular dimension so EACH page needs individual set up and is time consuming for techs. That’s costing me almost $9 a page x 102 pages for set up. Believe it or not that is about 60% of what other manufactures charge and I am getting full color plates per page each image. I wish Jan best of luck and hope for the day I’ll have my launch as well. Since I am print on demand supporters have promised to do my launch as monster launch twitter, facebook and all the others when things are ready.

    Like

    Reply
    • Wishing you all the best, Carl. It sounds as though you’re getting everything underway. These things do take time.

      Like

      Reply
  5. Thanks, Laura, for your always-enthusiastic support – nice pictures. It’s so great to have an independent book seller like Mitzi DeWolfe in our little town! The name “Box of Delights”, I think, came from an old fantasy novel of the same name, involving a magic box. Really a perfect name for a book store. I’m looking forward to your launch in September – shall I bring cupcakes?

    Like

    Reply
    • Love the little independent book stores. I think all writer do!

      Hey, cupcakes are good anytime, not just for launches..:) Hope I’ll see you before then. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  6. Laura, this has been a beautiful week with book launches and The Power of Harmony sounds like another great selection for our TBR stacks … thanks for the introduction 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • You’re most welcome. I love book launches. What a great way to celebrate this big accomplishment in a writer’s life. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  7. What a sweet little bookstore! Thanks for sharing Jan’s special day.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 232 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • My Novels

    Coming April 2017

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 73,806 hits
