WordPress, Wayne Dyer, Summer, Book Releases, and Grandchildren

The more you praise and celebrate your life, the more there is in life to celebrate. ~~Oprah Winfrey

Funny how time slips away from us as we watch the seasons come and go. Time slowly unravels–a little here and a little there— and before we know it those seasons have turned into years. Over time we laugh, we cry, we grit our teeth. We grieve the passing of people in our lives, our youth, and every other loss that comes our way. For some, the grieving takes over their lives and finding reasons to celebrate take an enormouspic_0092 amount of searching. Like everyone else, I’ve faced my share of grieving and loss, but through those times I’ve tried to see the good. Life is to be celebrated, a journey of our souls, an adventure that takes us far and wide.

This weekend is a celebration of sorts for me in more than one way. First, WordPress informed me that this is my four year anniversary for blogging. Not so shabby considering I’ve seen many bloggers come and go. Some I still miss and wish they would suddenly be struck by the blogging bug.

Also, I’m celebrating the fact that I’m off to hear Wayne Dyer speak in Halifax tomorrow. Some of you might remember me mentioning him from time to time on this blog. I’ve been a big fan of his for years and never dreamed I’d ever get to hear him speak. A once in a life time opportunity I’d say!

There’s also the beginning of summer to be celebrated even though the days are now growing shorter. I’m looking forward to the warm weather, and all the work involved with the release of my book in September. I also recently learned that I’m to be a grandmother for the second time!

So many things to be celebrated.

How about you, do you have reason to celebrate?

Leave a comment

20 Comments

  1. Beautiful post, Laura, and for me something I really needed reminding of at the moment. Life is a celebration–enjoy!!! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  2. These are indeed reasons to celebrate — congratulations!
    I’m celebrating this weekend, too. One of my short stories was published published today, in the anthology “Echoes of Elizabeth Bishop” produced beautifully by Gaspereau Press. The launch was in Great Village, and I had a wonderful time! Life is full of celebrations. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • How wonderful, Libby! I love Gaspereau Press They published several of my short stories years ago when they were publishing the Gaspereau Review. Congratulations. I know how exciting this is for you!

      Like

      Reply
  3. You do have many things to celebrate Laura. Congratulations on 4 years of blogging. Your blog has been an inspiration to me and has kept me going in the blogging world. Have a wonderful time meeting Wayne Dyer. i also admire him and like what he has to say. And a huge congratulations on the news about another grandchild (will this be a sibling for Miss Charlotte?) You soon will catch up to me. I have 4 of the darlings and will be seeing them in a week..

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks, Darlene! Nope Miss Charlotte will have a cousin and she’s very excited. Grandchildren are very special and one of the best reasons to celebrate! 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  4. Congratulations, Laura. My mom always said children kept her young. She had eleven and when she stopped producing, her kids picked up the torch and gave her 29 grandkids. Now the grandkids are giving her more babies to cuddle. Never a year goes by that there isn’t a new baby in the family, sometimes two.

    Four years? Wow. That is an accomplishment.

    I suppose just waking each morning is a reason for celebrating. That and a little bit of sunshine after those many days of rain. The mud is slowly disappearing.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks, Diane. Wow 29 grandchildren! It must be difficult to keep up with everyone.I can’t imagine.

      These days, having the mud slowly dry up is definitely a reason to celebrate. I really hope the rainy weather has passed although they’re calling for showers for the next three days. I’m hoping they’ll pass us by.

      Like

      Reply
  5. Congratulations on being a grandmother again and your bloggiversary!:)

    Like

    Reply
  6. Hey send some of that rain our way 🙂

    Great post. I celebrate all life has to give. People often roll their eyes when I say that, but it’s true. For every “bad” thing that happens, you don’t have to look very hard to see two or three or four GREAT things happening right that very instant. It’s all in one’s perspective. Today I’m celebrating the opportunity I have to use this month’s last extra bit of money to help the feral/stray cats in my neighborhood by getting them into spay/neuter clinic this week. It’s such a blessing to be able to help!

    Congrats on grandbaby #2!

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks!

      I agree, Leah.There is always good to be seen if we open our eyes and our minds.
      Congrats to you for making a difference in the cat population. A very worthy cause.

      Like

      Reply
  7. David

     /  June 24, 2013

    Congratulations on the blogging anniversary with WP. More importantly, congratulations on the coming grandbaby.

    With regard to celebrating, that’s easy: my youngest daughter graduating from high school, my oldest daughter turning 19, and another birthday in the coming weeks.

    Like

    Reply
  8. Not to make light, but often I celebrate getting up and having another day to love this life … to embrace what I so enjoy doing. And I envy you … I’d also love to hear Dyer in person. Enjoy. And upon being a granny … that is a wonderful time for us mothers 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  9. Congrats on your four year blogoversary! That is indeed something to celebrate. 🙂

    I’m celebrating the fact that I got to go “home” after a long absence. Its amazing how returning to our roots can rejuvenate and renew our perspective on life. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • That’s wonderful, C.B. and certainly something to celebrate. I’ve never experienced that returning to my roots feeling as I live only a few miles from where I grew up. Sometimes we take things for granted. It sounds like you had a great experience!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 230 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • My Novels

    Coming April 2017

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 72,965 hits
