Hello Feedly

Over the weekend I did a final proofing of my book and it’ll soon be going off to the printer! Exciting, it is, to see your hard work come to fruition, to hold that book in your hands for the first time and to know, really know, it was all worth it. It won’t be long now.

Now to the purpose of this post.

July 1st saw the end of Google Reader. I’d been using it for several years to follow the blogs I read. But now that’s gone. But lo and behold someone mentioned Feedly to me, and so I imported the blogs I follow to Feedly. It was really quite simple.

Now comes the whining. There always is, you know, when something is new or different from what we’re used to. While Feedly does allow me to keep up with you all, it’s not Google Reader. I found there were features in Reader that I quite liked but of course are no longer there. Over time, I expect, I’ll get used to it. What other choice do I have?

I also want to say congrats to Linda Cassidy Lewis whose book, “A Brevity of Roses” is a finalist  The eFestival of Words Best of the Independent eBook Awards. You can read all about how to vote for Linda’s book HERE. 

Now I’m curious. How do the rest of you keep up with the blogs you follow? Are you a previous Google Reader user? Are you using Feedly or some other site?

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. I use email subscriptions. It can be a bit overwhelming if I’ve been away from the computer for a few days…but it still works best for me.

    Like

    Reply
    • I started out that way, Suzi, but soon found I couldn’t keep up with all the emails then switched to Google Reader. Not sure if I’ll keep using Feedly. Maybe it’ll just take time for me to get used to it.

      Like

      Reply
  2. I use email subscriptions with filters/folders and good old fashioned bookmarks organized by topic folders.

    Like

    Reply
  3. I’ll echo what has already been said. I use email subscriptions. One of my recent hassles is to try to get a subscription button on my own website. WordPress tells me I have the app downloaded, but it’s inaccessible when I try to use it to add that subscription button. Argh.

    All that aside, Laura, CONGRATULATIONS on completing your book!!

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks, Sue! I’m not sure if it’s possible to catch everything in proofreading. My editor says, no. Funny how our eyes see what they want to.
      So many people seem to use the email subscription.

      Like

      Reply
  4. I also use email subscription. I have a few blogs delivered immediately and a few that I receive in digest (just depends on the subject matter). I also have a folder for Blogs, so if I don’t have time to read that day, I move it to there, so I can check it out later and still keep my inbox fairly neat.

    Yes, it does feel good to have your book in hand. It makes all the late nights and hair pulling worth it.

    Like

    Reply
    • The folder sounds like an idea that might work. My biggest problem when I had the subscriptions was all those emails coming in.

      Yes, the hair-pulling is over. At least for now. I’m working on a few other projects so I had to keep some hair in tact. 😉

      Like

      Reply
  5. christicorbett

     /  July 2, 2013

    I use WordPress Reader for all the wordpress sites I follow, and for the blogger ones I have a master list that I go through every week or so and visit. Admittedly I don’t get to them as much as the WordPress ones though 😦

    Congrats on the book!

    Christi Corbett

    Like

    Reply
  6. With users input, Feedly may upgrade and add the features you miss. Most of my blog notifications come to my email, but I’m slowly but surely switching to the WordPress reader. I still have a few RSS feeds coming into Feed Demon. That has worked well for me.

    Like

    Reply
    • I’m curious about WordPress reader now that others have mentioned it, but honestly, with dial-up some things are nearly impossible to get into. Or maybe I’m not patient enough.

      Like

      Reply
  7. I rely on e-mail notifications for the blogs I follow, so the loss of Google reader was barely a blip on my radar. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 237 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • My Novels

    Coming April 2017

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 74,626 hits
