Let the Excitement Begin

A friend recently asked if I was excited. She was of course speaking about the upcoming release of my new book and I knew immediately what she was referring to. Not that I’m physic or anything, it just seems that’s all I have on my mind these days. It’s kind of a big deal for me. My answer was something like, “not yet.”  Can you believe it? Truthfully, it felt so far into the future with still two months to go, and I was feeling kind of tired from the heat that evening. Really, it must have been the sweltering heat that sent my excitement scurrying for the corner. A rung out dishcloth would have had more enthusiasm in that heat.

But I want to change my answer. Yes, Torry, I’m starting to get excited! I’m soon hoping to see what the back cover copy looks like for my book and I’ll share it here once I do. I don’t expect any big changes to the cover as the image really is the focal point, and I love it more with each passing day.

At the moment a tentative date has been set for the launch, although at this point it’s a bit early. Apparently books can sometimes get hung up at the printers and we may have to change things around a bit. Can’t have a book launch without books!  I’ve also recently learned that I’ll be reading at Halifax Word on the Street, which I’m quite excited about. It’s always a bit unnerving reading from your book for the very first time in public, and you can believe I’ll be practicing like mad before September 22. I do a lot of readings in church and that really helps, and in ten days, I’ll be reading at my sister’s wedding. Can hardly wait for that (the wedding, not necessarily the reading!)

So even with all this going on, I still need to stay focused and keep writing. That’s sometimes the difficult part. Despite what other might believe, we writers often struggle to stay motivated, especially when we’re going as we try and smooth out any of the rough patches in our plot and bring our characters to life. I wish it wasn’t so. I wish I could say that words flow as smooth as silk all the time and all I need to do is show up at the computer. I’m half-way through a first draft on another novel and I’d really like to have that first draft finished by the end of summer. I’m keeping my fingers crossed. So many things can set our schedules off.

That’s it for the moment. I’m struggling to visit blogs these days and totally not liking Feedly. Maybe it’s just because I haven’t logged in enough times, or often enough, to become familiar with it. If I don’t soon warm up to it, I’ll have to come up with another system to keep track of you all.

 

I hope your summer is turning out to be everything you hoped it would be. What excites you this summer?

Leave a comment

28 Comments

  1. 1959duke

     /  August 1, 2013

    Reblogged this on Change is Never Ending.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Good for you for staying focused! My writing, quilting, and embroidery, have suffered this summer…lots like I’ve been having too much fun in the sun…I need to refocus!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Can’t wait to read your new book, Laura. Blessings to you…

    Like

    Reply
  4. Reblogged this on Diane Tibert.

    Like

    Reply
  5. You’re as ‘busy as a bee making honey for winter’. It’s amazing you have time to blog.

    Stay cool. It’s a warm one out there today.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks for reblogging, Diane. 🙂 I wish there were a few more hours in the day, but I try and get up early, That helps. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  6. Good luck, Diane. I’m glad the excitement is beginning. I’m not far behind you. My third one will be launched in January. But there is still so much editing and computer stuff to do that at this point it’s just stress. Maybe I’ll get excited in the new year.

    Like

    Reply
  7. However you do stay connected, Laura … it will be exciting for all of us to follow the happenings with the launch 🙂 Above all …have fun !!

    Like

    Reply
  8. Judi

     /  August 1, 2013

    You’ve come along way, Country Bumpkin. From that sleepy little girl who got on the bus to travel to Aylesford to school, to writing books, blogging, having grandchildren, to having sooo many followers you most likely have trouble remembering all their names. You go, girl. You know we are all behind you here in E. Dalhousie. Love Ya…..

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks Judi! I’m afraid you make me sound much better, and exciting than I am, except for the Country Bumpkin part. That’s true; As you well know. 😉 It’s wonderful knowing there are so many people cheering me on. Who couldn’t love that?

      Like

      Reply
  9. I can’t imagine not being excited about an impending release! This is such a wonder-filled time in your career. I hope you’re enjoying the process as much this time as you did for Bitter, Sweet even if the workload is getting heavier. I’m looking forward to reading this next story so very much. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • The process this time, Carol, has been much different. But yes, I’m still enjoying it. I suppose one can’t expect it to be exactly the same. I’m glad you’re looking forward to reading my new book. It’s a bit different than Bitter, Sweet, but I love this baby just as much!

      Like

      Reply
  10. I know what you mean by the heat and trying to write through it. This was my summer to finish a sequel to a fantasy for middle readers that I published earlier this year. Hang in there, Laura. It can be done! Enjoy the writing, and the anticipation of your launch, and have a great day at Word on the Street!

    Like

    Reply
  11. I’m having a super summer. We’ve just had a full month of no rain (unheard of here on the west (wet) coast. I spent a week with my grandson travelling around Alberta doing research for my next book. What fun. Now I need to get down to business and write. You have every right to be excited about the next release!

    Like

    Reply
    • What I wouldn’t give to gt through a week with no rain. I’m a bit jealous!
      It sounds as though your trip was just what you needed to get you in the mood for writing your next book. All the best as you dive in. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  12. I’m excited for you, Laura! Yayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!

    Like

    Reply
  13. This is very exciting, Laura! This calls for a happy dance. I’ll be wandering about Word on the Street in Halifax this year — maybe I’ll see you there!
    I’m having trouble staying motivated with my WIP, so I know what you mean about losing focus. But I’m publishing my first anthology, so I feel that makes up for it a wee bit. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks, Libby! I’m not sure when I’ll be reading at WOTS, but I hope we get to meet. That would be really neat! And congratulations on publishing your first anthology. Now THAT is reason to celebrate. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  14. Laura, I love the cover! Congratulations!!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 236 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • My Novels

    Coming April 2017

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 74,220 hits
