Time Flies

Do you ever wish you could stretch time out or at least stop it for a few days to catch up on some things?

I’m in awe of how quickly the summer is going. Although I suspect it goes quickly for everyone, it seems as though here in the country it simply flies by. Summer is a busy time. I’ve been working in the garden, working at my job, trying to squeeze in some writing time, not to mention preparing for the upcoming release of my book. A lot of juggling to do. There are worse things in life though, like being bored out of one’s tree. So I’ll try not to complain about all the things in my life that keep me busy.

Publicity for the book is soon underway. I have my first interview next week for a small publication that is distributed to all the homes in the surrounding area. I might have mentioned that I’ll be reading this year again at Word on the Street on the 22nd of September and of course the book launch is tentatively scheduled for the 29th. As well as email invites, Nimbus will send out snail mail invitations so I’m in the process of gathering addresses and making a list. Unfortunately, I can’t find my list from four years ago so I’m basically starting from scratch again.

I want to mention that I’ve added a new tab on my blog for the new book. There’s an excerpt there as well for anyone who is interested in reading it. I shared it yesterday with my Facebook friends. I”m still hoping to put together a book trailer for this book, although I’ll make no promises at this point. Much of it depends upon my daughter and how much time we’ll get when she next visits.

The contest to enter a chance to win JoAnn Yhard’s new book, Buried Secrets at Louisbourg is open until next Friday. Don’t forget to enter. JoAnn shared her thoughts on writing a sequel.

How is your summer going? Do you have any tips on slowing down time because I could sure use some.  😉

 

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. If you find a way, let me know!

    Like

    Reply
  2. This summer is just flying by for sure. I just had out-of-town guests so that kept me busy on top of everything else. I love summer so I want to hold onto it as long as possible.

    Like

    Reply
    • Glad I’m not the only one who thinks time is going by quickly. The mornings and evenings are cooling off and it always leaves me feeling a little melancholy for some reason.

      Like

      Reply
  3. cluculzwriter

     /  August 19, 2013

    I find when the weather changes from stinking hot to rain, it’s the beginning of the end of summer. What must it be like to live in south where they have summer all year round? Could we manage?

    I entered the contest. Thanks, Laura.

    Like

    Reply
    • Best of luck with the contest, Joylene. If we had summer all year long I’m sure I’d miss fall and spring. Maybe we could skip winter. 😉

      Like

      Reply
  4. As long as I am reading a book outside, it’s still summer. I try to hang on to a sunny reading spot as long as I can, and the luxury of just sitting and reading is definitely a summer ‘activity’ for me. Once work begins, those moments are scarce, but I try to sneak them in whenever possible on weekends to remind me how warm sunshine feels, before reading in front of the fireplace becomes the norm.

    Like

    Reply
    • I’m not ready to even think about reading in front of the fireplace, Heather. I’m hanging fast to summer for as long as possible, but fall is peeking at us.

      Like

      Reply
  5. I just finished a period in my life that seemed slower than an ice melt in the Arctic. They say that the ice is melting fast, so I guess that my time that seemed long was really not so long. Now I am enjoying life in a season of repair and rest. I don’t know how to slow down time, but surely a season of rest will come your way when you need it most. Blessings to you, Laura…

    Like

    Reply
  6. You’ve gone through many changes, Carol Ann, and I’m glad to hear you’re now able to enjoy life again. You deserve it! “A season of rest”–I like that. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 232 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • My Novels

    Coming April 2017

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 73,806 hits
