Word of Mouth

We hear time and again that what sells books is word of mouth. We only have to look at some of the recent runaway success stories to see that it’s a pretty accurate statement. When someone we know recommends a book, raves on about it even, it makes us curious. We want to read it too. See what makes it so rave-worthy.

I sometimes joke that I’m the only person on the planet who hasn’t read the Fifty Shades trilogy because, for a time, it seemed that was all everyone was talking about. People I know, who barely read, were hunkering down for the long haul. I was shocked by their admission. Not only were they reading the books but they were buying their own copies.

But I’m not here to lecture. Far from it. My point is, many of the people I know who bought the books did so because they heard about it from someone else. Many claimed to just want to know what all the hub-bub was about. Right. Oh yeah I’m not here to lecture. I forgot. Many of the people who admitted to reading it even acknowledged that the writing wasn’t all that good. (Being the only person on the planet who hasn’t read them, I can’t pass judgment on that.) Yet still they read on.

Now, you all know I’ve got a book ready to hit the bookstores in a few weeks. Here in the little community where I live my friends are all buzzing. Plans are being made for the book launch that will take place at the end of September. I’m already blown away by the response from my friends on Facebook, and their generousity when it comes to sharing things like the cover of my book, and other book- related posts I make on my Facebook page. I didn’t even have to chase them down or twist their arms behind their backs and make they cry “Uncle.” They just did it to help out a friend who happens to be an author with a book about to be released, and I think that’s pretty darn cool. While walking down this writing path I’m on, it’s indescribable to think of how many people are here to keep me company. 🙂  It makes me beyond happy.

Word of mouth can sell many books. Mind you, my book isn’t likely to sell a fraction of what the Fifty Shades trilogy did, but in my little corner of the world it’ll buzz for a time. Not only that, we’ll all share in that buzzing.  It’s not just about me and my book. It’s about our book. Ah— small communities. They sure know how to make an author feel loved.

Has word of mouth ever sent you running t the bookstore? Have you ever bought a book simply because someone raved on about it?

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Angela Wilson

     /  August 30, 2013

    I remember running out and buying Satanic Verses when there was all this buzz about it, I paid $40 for the hard cover book, only to end up reading about 10 pages and then throwing it down, wondering, what the hell kind of s**t was this? It was just a bunch of repetitive words that didn’t make any sense to me. So, yes, I am guilty of buying a book that was all abuzz, only to discard it and sell it to a bookstore.

    Like

    Reply
    • 10 pages. At least you didn’t waste more time on it than that. Unless those ages took you like weeks to get through..lol! I’m sure you’re not the only one to find disappointment over a book that was abuzz!

      Like

      Reply
  2. I mostly find an author I like and stick with that author from book to book. If you like someone’s work, you like it. I’ve benefited by this policy. I have a list of authors I like. You are on it, Laura. Blessings to you…

    Like

    Reply
  3. I don’t often buy popular books but I did buy The Time Travellers Wife because a number of people read and liked it. I was happy I did. There are some people I know I can trust if they recommend a book, like my brother and a handful of friends. LIke Carol, if I find an author I like, I tend to read most of his/her books.

    Like

    Reply
    • I have The Time Travellers Wife in my TBR pile. I got it at a used book sale. :)Sticking with an author we like is usually a good idea, and you’re right, Darlene, recommendations from someone we trust is a good way to choose books!

      Like

      Reply
  4. cluculzwriter

     /  September 3, 2013

    My community has been a huge source of support over my novels. Makes my heart burst just to think about it. I’m so happy for you, Laura. Your hard work is going to pay off. Oh, I tried to read 50 Shades, but only got through the first 2 and a half chapters before I just couldn’t read another word. Ooh, not my cup of tea.

    Like

    Reply
    • There’s nothing better than the support from the community we live in, Joylene.
      You’re braver than me about the Fifty Shades, I haven’t even seen a cover. 😉

      Like

      Reply
  5. I rarely run to the book store, I mostly walk, ha ha. If I have an interest in a book, I would read reviews and excerpts but I don’t depend on whether it’s popular or not. I usually read a bit part to see if I want to read before looking for the book. I do find a lot of new books to read by reading other blogger’s book reviews. & word of mouth is quite useful in helping people know about new books.

    lots of luck to you and your new book. have a great day.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 232 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • My Novels

    Coming April 2017

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 73,806 hits
