Shopping Dilemma

I wanted to call this post “Shopping Sucks” but decided against it. A title with the word “Sucks” in it would pretty much suck. It would be a whiny, miserable post that would likely put me in a lousy mood.

Maybe I’m the one who sucks when it comes to shopping.

The truth is, I’m shopping for something to wear to a few public appearances, Word on the Street and my book launch, both of them a week apart. It’s not that I haven’t been looking. I have, honest, I have. But the truth is when you’re “petite” there’s not a whole lot to choose from. The petite section is VERY small in the ladies shop. Kind of ironic, don’t you think?

Today , I was out and about in the rain, trying to find something I like, something that looked good on me. I didn’t have much luck. I’m a sorry excuse for a shopper. My sense of fashion is pretty much non-existing. The girls in the shops were exasperated with me. I was exasperated with me. I don’t like patterns. When you explain that horizontal stripes do not look good on a “petite” woman, they roll their eyes. So sue me. I don’t like stripes. I don’t like polka dots. I don’t like colours all smeared together like some finger painting Miss Charlotte would do. I don’t like the patterns my mother wore when I was growing up. I don’t like large flowers. I don’t like frills. I don’t like baggy. Nor am I looking to show any cleavage. I don’t like certain colours on me. Does this make me fussy?

So what do I like? Something simple, but tasteful. Solid colours are good. I like red, and blue, and purple, and burgundy, and green. I like black. No, do not suggest orange to me. Orange is nice, but it’s not my colour. Some pattern would be okay under the right circumstances. What circumstances you might ask? Ah, that’s the tricky part. I’ll know it when I see it. And yes, some of the things I looked at were nice in their own way, but would look much better on someone who wasn’t five feet tall in heels.

Anyway, tomorrow’s another day. I’ve not been defeated. I’m heading out again. This time I’m Valley bound. I’ll take off in a totally different direction. I won’t stop until I’ve found the outfit for me. Surely, there is something out there I like and will look good on me.

Wish my luck!

 Do you have as hard a time shopping as what I do? Do you have any tips to give me? I could sure use some advice.

Leave a comment

20 Comments

  1. 1959duke

     /  September 13, 2013

    Reblogged this on Change is Never Ending.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Yes, I have the same problem, though my legs are TOO long. I found jeans in the regular length at Eddie Bauer that fit! Enough gals wear high heels with jeans, it’s become a fashion statement and the pantlegs are longer. Now if the designers would give us back the rest of our sleeves…Hope you find something on your next shopping trip. If not, head here, at least we have large Petite sections, usually.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Good luck on finding what you want. I actually enjoy shopping. Recently I have been buying my outfits at consignment stores. People who take thier clothing to consignment stores have good taste and are often petite like us. I have found some great things. Also the price suits my budget. You can never go wrong with basic black!

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks, Darlene! I know if I actually enjoyed shopping it would make a huge big difference. We really don’t have a lot of shops our way unless you want to go into the city shopping. And since I don’t drive in the city, it’s a bit challenging. I wore black last time and was hoping to have some colour this time around, but who knows, I may have to go with that old stand by.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Well, Frenchy’s, of course! The one in Berwick is particularly good. I’d love to help out, but I’m busy today, as you know:) And I find a nice light-weight jacket is always comfortable and looks good – blue, for you, I think. And I’m sure everybody will be listening too hard to notice what you’re wearing!

    Like

    Reply
    • How did I know you’d suggest Frenchy’s? I’ve actually been check the Frenchy strores out but haven’t had much luck. I’m not big on looking through bins. If I can’t find it right away, I get discouraged. I know, I’m a hard customer!

      Like

      Reply
  5. laura jollymore

     /  September 14, 2013

    I can relate….. had to buy a mother of the bride dress…..lol…..didn’t like most of them…too stuffy!!…too formal!!!!….too glitzy!!!…too long!!…and the list goes on…..my favorite was….too old looking!!, more suitable for someone older…ha ah….oh yeah…too short….I like below the knee….I did finally find an outfit at Sears, in New Minas…..which I was contented with……so I will wish you the Best of Luck, no play on words intended…lol….and yes I can relate!!

    Like

    Reply
    • LOL! Yup, I think we’re pretty much in the same boat when it comes to dressing up, Laura. Glad you found something suitable that you were contented with. Congratulations to Courtney and her new Hubby. How exciting. Grandchildren next! 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  6. My husband doesn’t understand why I can stand in the entrance of a store, look around, and walk out again. If I don’t see anything in a colour that I like on display or on the racks, I don’t even bother going in. I’m not a great browser. You’ll find what you want, I’m sure. And I agree with Jan. On the day, it’s going to be about the words. Hope you have some fun today.

    Like

    Reply
    • You and Jan are very sweet. I hope my words do make some kind of impact–a good one! Today actually went great, a few people gave me the name of a store that sells petite clothing. I was in heaven! 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  7. Nova

     /  September 14, 2013

    You are definately not alone with your shopping troubles as there are alot of us like that. By the sounds of your dislikes and likes I’d say I shouldn’t go shopping with you as we’d like the same things, lol! Anyway, about the only places I can find things these days is at Frenchy’s (preferably the one in Coldbrook) and consignment places. So on that note, I wish you luck; I’m sure you’ll find something that you will like. Mom recently had some luck at TanJay in New Minas as well so you may want to check that out too.

    Like

    Reply
  8. I can relate, Laura. Only I’m not petite but am tall with a smaller upper body and larger bottom and hips which can be aggravating trying to achieve a balanced look. Shoulder pads are passé. So what? They balance me! heehee!

    I usually know something is good when I see it and it just works. Certain clothing stores I go to are just hopeless like Winners, and the stores made for tiny nubile young bodies like Forever 21. How dare I set foot in that store! Forever 21, my foot!

    I like places like Northern Reflections which has classic clothes that aren’t too fussy and frilly. They also have good sales. I always have luck there. When I see a Northern Reflections item at the Thrift store, I snap it up.

    Good luck. As other women wisely said, people are coming to listen to your wonderful words more than look at your outfit anyhow.

    Like

    Reply
  9. Hi, I also struggle shopping because I just can’t stand spending a lot of time in closed spaces with no natural light + if you add up the usual crowds… I’m out of there in a second 🙂
    My trick is to focus on what I really really want (vs. don’t want) and manifest it. It doesn’t always work but many times it does. H&M has affordable, simple but stylish clothes, as well as Zara. Their clothes is usually too long but I guess you can have it adjusted…
    Good luck! xox

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks for visiting my blog and for leaving a comment. 🙂

      A positive attitude always helps, and you’re right concentrating on what we do want is best. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  10. I’m so predictable when it comes to clothes, White shirt, black trousers, and black silk jacket, or whatever they’re called. Not jackets really. The tricks to shopping are to go alone so you’re not holding anyone up. Unless you can get someone to volunteer to actually help. Know what looks good on you and look for that. Don’t forget rings and a manicure because they look at your hands, especially if you’re holding your book. Oh, and don’t forget to squat in the change room so you can tell if you’ll be comfortable sitting on a hard wooden chair.

    Like

    Reply
  11. David

     /  September 24, 2013

    Fashion isn’t my long suit, but you need a guy’s view. 🙂

    My wife and daughters are on the petite side also. Since my wife is an MD, she spends most of her workday in scrubs. When not in scrubs but needs to be dressy, it’s the total professional look. My daughters, all horse riders, opt for the equestrian look or jeans. If you look in their closets, though, I’d say their wardrobe is much more significant.

    If anything, you can’t go wrong in black. Or, what you’re wearing in your Facebook profile photo.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks, David. I actually ended up wearing the same colour as my Fb profile, although it doesn’t look like the same colour. Lighting has a lot to do with it. I found something I really like for the launch on Sunday at a shop that sells for petite women.

      Wish me luck!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 237 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • My Novels

    Coming April 2017

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 74,965 hits
