A Disease, a Wedding and an Anthology

I have a disease. It may be incurable. Some of you know this already and some of you have suspected it for some time, but have remained silent. Please don’t pity me. I really don’t like pity. The disease I have keeps me awake at night, keeps my mind buzzing, makes me wonder just what the future holds in store for me. Some say this disease is caused by the bite from a rare bug, one that can bite you quite early in life or later on. It doesn’t discriminate. For some, it’s a lifetime struggle. The bug I’m talking about, of course, is the writing bug. No surprises there!

Yeah, I’ve been writing. A lot. Writing and editing and revising and writing some more. Writing takes up a great deal of my time, and when I’m not writing I’m often thinking about the story I’m writing. It is a disease, really it is. One that I may never recover from. One I hope they never come up with a cure for.

But that’s not all that’s been going on with me these days. More than writing I’ve been living and working and taking some family time. Family time comes before writing time. No contest. I have two precious grandbabies now who need snuggles and kisses and hugs, so many hugs. And I have a wedding to plan. Yes, wedding.

After being widowed for 26 years, my Mum is getting married next weekend. I couldn’t be happier. The family couldn’t be happier. To be honest, this is something none of us ever expected, least of all my mother. But the world is a mysterious place. Sometimes life throws things our way, and even when we fight against them we end up realizing that resistance is futile. I’m a bit older now than Mum was when she found herself all alone. It wasn’t easy. Many of you know that on top of all that she’s visually impaired. Luckily, she has five kids. And now a soon to be second husband.

“Everything will be all right in the end… if it’s not all right then it’s not yet the end.” Love this quote by Deborah Moggach, The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel and it reminds me of my Mum’s story. I have Gary Doi to thank for making me aware of the quote. He’s the editor of the new anthology I’m a part of, along with 25 other people, titled, “Fly Like an Eagle.” It’ll be for sale on Amazon within the next few weeks. The proceeds will go to SORCO, a rescue rehab and release facility, in the Okanagan Region of British Columbia, for raptors such as eagles, hawks and owls. I feel honoured to be a part of this project, a project that gives back.

So, for now that’s what’s up with me. Oh, and not to mention a forty hour regular work week, can’t forget that. I’ve been missing my blogger friends and looking forward to getting caught up with what you all are doing.

Anything new in your corner of the web?

Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. angela wilson

     /  October 5, 2014

    Oh, wow! Congrats to your mom for a new chapter in her life! And you just keep on doing what you love, girl!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Kathy

     /  October 5, 2014

    Isn’t life interesting?!! So many great things going on in you life, Laura and you deserve it! So does your mom. A big congrats to her and Gary. Like her, I am saying….I am getting married AGAIN to Gary! Now that is something I never thought I would say. But it’s all good. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • Life certainly is mysterious and we just never know what will happen. I’m SO happy for you and Gary. Who knew way back then? Really…

      Like

      Reply
  3. lovely to get this update. While we all KNEW you were writing, because, yes, it’s who you are…we had no idea of these other bits of amazing news. Congratulations all around.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Hurray for all the great news at your house–and your mom’s too. Nice to hear that your are enjoying all your family and writing time. Hope you have a great week ahead!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Laura, that is the best news about your mom. And ditto on the grandbabies … my baby girl had a baby girl three months ago and I found out last week that they will fly 1200 miles to spend her first Christmas with me. How wonderful is that?

    I love your incurable disease and am happy to live with that bug. Keep writing and loving 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  6. It appears we have the same disease! We are also once again in the same anthology which is wonderful and for such a good cause. I am so happy for your mother. I just love stories like this. I wish her and her new husband all the best. You are never too old for happiness!!Those grandchildren of yours are so lucky to have you to give them hugs and cuddles.

    Like

    Reply
  7. That’s wonderful news about your mother’s wedding!

    Like

    Reply
  8. Congrats to your mom!

    Like

    Reply
  9. Life is full of enriching experiences. That’s why we have to keep writing. It’s contagious!!

    I’m so happy for your mother and wish her and all of your family much joy in this next chapter of her life.

    Like

    Reply
  10. your life sounds delightful, Laura. Kisses grand-babies and writing. What’s more wonderful than that! Not much. Except maybe lots of chocolate.

    Like

    Reply
  11. How lovely for your mum… have lots of fun and keep up with the great writing… Barbara x

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 237 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • My Novels

    Coming April 2017

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 74,965 hits
