Guest Post–Heather Wright

Today, it is my pleasure to welcome author Heather Wright to my blog. I’ve asked Heather to tell us a little bit about how she came up with the idea for her how-to writing books for teens and pre-teens.

Heather is a busy freelancer and children’s writer. As a freelancer, Heather has worked for educational publishers, non-profits and agencies. Her feature articles, profiles and promotional copy have appeared in local and national publications.  Her books for middle readers and teens include Sherlock Holmes and the Orphanage Mystery (for Caramel Tree Publishing), Writing Fiction: A Hands-On Guide for Teens, Writing Fiction: A Guide for Pre-Teens, The Dragon’s Pearl, and The Dragon’s Revenge, all available at on-line bookstores. In late September, with co-writer Jean Mills, Heather launched an anthology of stories for middle school boys called Dude! Heather enjoys working with young writers and loves visiting classrooms to teach writing skills and to talk about the writer’s life. She runs teen writing workshops at her local library and at art camps, and has also created presentations for teachers’ conferences. Her website, http://wrightingwords.com, hosts resources for teen and pre-teen writers and their teachers.

 

IMG_4467.HeatherwrightWhen I was a kid, what I wanted to be more than anything else was a writer (Nancy Drew has a lot to answer for.) Later, when I taught middle school and high school English, I met students with the same dream. What I noticed, though, was a lack of creative writing resources for pre-teens and teens–resources that treated them like writers and not like students.

Around the same time, I got the opportunity to write a how-to-write column for a national magazine for teens called, What If? Canada’s Creative Magazine for Teens. By the time I had finished my four-year run creating a bi-monthly column, I had a lot of material that begged to be made into a book. So I wrote one.

Now there are other writing books out there for teens, but I wanted mine to be different. First, it had to be short. I’d taught enough creative kids to know that what they want is to be given the main framework for a concept or technique, and then go and run with it themselves. I also wrote my book writer-to-writer, not teacher-to-student. My book explains what published writers do to keep their readers turning the pages, and shows young writers how to make their own writing better. My book has no end-of-chapter homework questions or assignments, but there are 50 writing prompts included to help my readers get started if they don’t have an idea for a story.

Once I’d written Writing Fiction: A Hands-On Guide for Teens, my writer and teacher friends said that I needed to write a book for pre-BookCoverImageteens, too. That book, Writing Fiction: A Guide for Pre-Teens was published at the end of July, 2014.

Reaching out to young writers and their teachers has been a passion of mine for a long time, and my website is dedicated to finding and creating resources for them to use. I want young writers to write the stories they want to write. I hope that, with good resources, they’ll learn how to write better stories every time they try. Because of my books, I get to visit classrooms and conferences, and I also run free writing workshops for teens at my local library. I’m definitely in my happy place—and that’s why I write what I write.

Thank you, Heather. How wonderful it would have been if such books existed when we were teens and pre-teens!

Listed below are some links where you can learn more about Heather and just where her books are available.

Heather’s website:http://wrightingwords.com

Amazon.ca link to Writing Fiction: A Hands-On Guide for Teens Second Edition http://www.amazon.ca/Writing-Fiction-Hands–Guide-Second-ebook/dp/B00I2MXH8U/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1406810173&sr=8-1&keywords=Writing+fiction+a+hands+on+guide+for+teens+second

Amazon.ca link to Writing Fiction: A Guide for Pre-Teens: http://www.amazon.ca/Writing-Fiction-A-Guide-Pre-Teens-ebook/dp/B00M3HFDFA/ref=pd_rhf_se_p_img_11

 

Reviews for first edition of Writing Fiction: A Hands-On Guide for Teens are here:

Review of Canadian Materials (University of Manitoba) http://umanitoba.ca/outreach/cm/vol17/no5/writingfiction.html

Canadian Teacher Magazine – the PDF of this review is no longer available (darn,) but a quote from the review follows:

“This guide to writing fiction speaks directly to young writers and provides tools to help them become successful in their writing endeavours and to have fun doing so … The author’s love of writing and enthusiasm for sharing her expertise with young writers shines through this guidebook, making it a wonderful resource for young writers.”

CANADIAN TEACHER magazine

This is an excerpt from Review of Canadian Materials (University of Manitoba) review for Writing Fiction: A Guide for Pre-Teens:

Writing Fiction: A Guide for Pre-Teens follows in the footsteps of Writing Fiction: A Hands-On Guide for Teens and attempts to provide the same sort of how-to-write assistance, but for a slightly younger audience. Longer than the first resource guide—this one comes in at 66 pages, covering primarily the same ground from goal setting and tapping ideas to character-building and writers’ block. Wright’s explanations are clear, concise, and illuminating, without talking down to the user. The guide would be a useful resource even for adults.”

 

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. I’ve been waiting for this interview; thanks Laura and Heather!
    I, too, wish there had been this kind of support when we were in school. I think it may have made a difference for me.
    I am soon going to be reviewing Heather’s book on my blog as it is up next on my TBR pile. I expect to learn a few things. 😊

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  2. What a wonderful resource for young aspiring writers. Thanks Heather! And thanks Laura for spreading the word.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  3. This is a fabulous idea! Wish something like this had been around when I was young too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Thanks, Laura! I was away when this was posted and am just catching up now. Thanks everyone, too, for your comments. After reading Laura’s post for today (April 7) I will be adding this to my list of successes.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 236 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • My Novels

    Coming April 2017

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 74,220 hits
