Catch Up!

I chose this title thinking of a writer from Ontario whose work appeared in some of the same publications as mine over the years. She was a retired schoolteacher when we became acquainted. She often sent out emails to the people on her contact list with the title “Catch up” and she’d tell us all the news from her corner of the world.

She once sent me a photo of the farmhouse she lived in. It was beautiful. Over the years she moved several times as she downsized. She sent me some of her books in the past and shared her poetry with me, although she wrote more fiction that poetry. She’d tell me about the trips she went on, which sounded so remarkable to me for she was over 8o at the time. I was impressed by her stamina and her ability to try new things, her sense of fun and spirit. I came to value our friendship.

Overtime the emails became less frequent and I couldn’t help but notice that she seemed a bit confused–sending the same thing several times. Eventually, the emails  and letters stopped. I have no idea if she’s still with us in mind or body, but I appreciated her encouragement over the years and all her little “catch up” emails.

So, here is the “catch up” at the Best household this time around. Hold fast to your britches this is exciting stuff!

Zucchini…zucchini…zucchini. But if you’re on my Facebook you already know that it’s a zucchini jungle here in East Dalhousie as an influx of the green beasts are arriving daily to my garden. I’ve been slowly finding homes for these wayward …Ummm…souls doesn’t sound appropriate here, but you know what I mean. Here’s the scoop when it comes to zucchini. You either love them or loathe them, and when you loathe them you REALLY loathe them to the point where you don’t even want to hear the word zucchini mentioned in your presence. I have shuddered in the past over people’s rendition of the “I hate zucchini and don’t even mention the word to me” ballad. These people need some serious help! On a positive note, I’ve been discovering some new recipes that incorporate zucchini.

 

DSC06342

5 weeks to T-Day (That’s twin day for those of you out of the loop) although I won’t be surprised if they come a little ahead of schedule as they’re growing like zucchini …um make that weeds. Did I mention we’re having a girl and a boy? Exciting times. Speaking of twins, it seems there are twins everywhere I look. These twins were in the backyard yesterday nibbling away. No doubt a hint that the lawn could use mowing again.

DSC06376

Miss Charlotte has her backpack ready and will heading off to school on the 8th of September. I can’t believe how quickly the time has gone. Wasn’t it just a year ago she started walking and talking and reading? Oh my!

Some sad news for us this month as well. One of my mum’s childhood friends, who went to the School for the Blind with her, isn’t doing so well. My mum and stepfather got down to visit her in the hospital yesterday to say their goodbyes. The last time I saw her was at Mum’s wedding last fall. She was anxious to know when my next book was coming out. Growing up, I heard so many stories about Mum’s friends from the school and many of them have stayed in contact with her over the years. It’s a strong bond they all share.

That’s what friends are for—I’m reminded of this in so many ways. A late night email from a friend, who sent along some words of encouragement, for no particular reason, not only gave me a much needed boost, but impressed upon me the importance in lifting one another up. We can all use encouragement, not just during our low times, but all those times in between—writers especially. So a big thank you to my friend who understands that the little things really do mean so much.

We were to a beautiful wedding at the end of July at Sainte- Famille Wines in Falmouth. So happy for these friends who go back all the way to elementary school if we’re being technical.

DSC06334

I’ve a few book events coming up in September and will be part of the Arts and Life Tour again this year. I’ll be at the Parkdale/Maplewood Museum  the same as last year.  You’ll even see my name listed! Drop in and say hello if you’re taking in this tour. I’ll be there with my books and we can talk about writing or zucchini—you choose. I’m versatile that way! Seriously, sometimes people shy away from speaking to authors at these events, feeling that they’ll be expected to buy a book. That’s not true.  While authors love it when someone makes a purchase, we also love meeting people and having a good gab!

Also, before I go, I’d like to mention to any of the writers out there who would like to be a guest on blog during the month of September feel free to contact me through the “contact me” or my regular email if you have it. If you have a book you’d like to promote we’ll mention that too. I’ve declared September the “lifting up my fellow author month.” 

 

Now it’s your turn. What do you have to share as part of this “catch up” post?

 

Next Post
Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. I love this newsy post. I can´t believe Miss Charlotte will be going to school already! We´re taking life easy here in Spain. Have made some new friends which is great. Working on the next Amanda adventure.

    Like

    Reply
    • A new Amanda adventure! Sounds intriguing, Darlene. Where will this one be set or is it top secret?

      I’m glad to hear you’re making new friends in Spain! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      • Amanda will be on a trip down the Danube visiting places in Germany, Austria and Hungary. Amanda on the Danube – The Sounds of Music will be out in 2016, all being well.

        Like

        Reply
  2. I always look forward to your posts so I can get caught up on your doings. 🙂 Summertime is my personal catching-up time — a little time at the cabin, lots of reading, and *supposedly* some writing on contest pieces. The latter would benefit from your previous post on inspiration. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • P.S. Oh, and I’m not big on zucchini — never grow it, never buy it, but eat it willingly when we’re out. I keep a couple interesting-sounding recipes on hand just in case someone gives me some.

      Like

      Reply
      • Not big on Zucchini? But…but…you shared your recipe with me. 😉 Seriously, I find them a challenge and like finding new things to do with them!

        Like

        Reply
        • I *do* cook it when somebody has given me some, That’s why I keep a few tasty recipes on hand. I don’t offer to be the recipient of anyone’s over-abundance though.

          Like

  3. Exciting days/years ahead for you, Laura!

    I really like zucchini. It’s not only beautiful to look at, it is so good to eat. I have a recipe for zucchini bread (sweet bread) that is delish! Now that I, for health reasons, have a diet mostly free of gluten – and many other things, I seldom get to enjoy it.

    This year has sadly been a slack one for keeping up on my blog; however, this week I’ll be sharing about my most exciting catch up item … the top item of my bucket list. Shhhh … it’s skydiving! yay!

    Summer is already sliding down the short side … and I hate to see it go! Enjoy what’s left of it, Laura.

    Like

    Reply
    • There might be some recipes or gluten free zucchini bread, Lynn, now that so many people have had to change their diets.

      Skydiving!!! Oh my, I can hardly wait to read about it. I’m squeezed for time this week but will make it to your blog eventually!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. I love zucchini cake! Haven’t found a decent gluten free recipe. They end up tasting like sawdust. Yours is very handsome.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Not quite as good as a Vittles meeting, but very newsy nonetheless: Perhaps you should take along a few of your green friends as giveaways when you’re on the Arts and Life Tour:) I’m trying to condense my 70,000 words into a two-paragraph query letter these days – home next Wednesday. See you soon!

    Like

    Reply
    • Oh, Jan, there have been developments since this post. Some trips to outpatients with Hubby over a hornet sting,

      Can hardly wait for a Vittles meeting to hear all your news! Yes, the dreaded query. I know where you’re coming from!

      Like

      Reply
  6. Thanks for the catch-up. Miss Charlotte can’t be old enough for school already! Glad you’re finding lots of good uses for your zucchini. Five weeks until the twins arrive (if they tarry)! Oh, it’s going to get busy. What will the deer eat if you mow? I think I’d leave it. 😉

    Like

    Reply
    • How quickly children grow up. It’s hard to believe. We’re getting quite excited for the twins. It’s going to be a busy time! Thanks for stopping by, Patti!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 229 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • My Novels

    Coming April 2017

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 72,383 hits
