Century Old Valentines

I live in what was once the Dale Post Office. Sounds impressive to anyone who enjoys a bit of local history, but what was called the post office was actually just a room in the house. (That room is now my bathroom–a good-sized bathroom as many people make mention.) Having a post office in someone’s house  was common in rural areas. I’m not sure how long the Dale Post Office was in operation but I believe it was still operating in the 1950’s. I love these old fashioned Valentines and the fact that people actually sent them through the mail at one time. I’m not sure how many people are sending valentines these days but what I do know is that these cards from a century ago cannot be duplicated.

DSC07060

The Valentine post cards that I’m sharing with you came through the Dale Post Office over a century ago, postmarked from 1912 and 1911. I find that kind of neat!

DSC07074

 

 

Happy Valentine’s Day. ❤

Leave a comment

20 Comments

  1. I love these old Valentine postcards. I still love getting snail mail. Have a Happy Valentine’s Day!!

    Like

    Reply
  2. angela wilson

     /  February 13, 2016

    That’s cool about your bathroom once being the post office! Yes, those old Victorian style Valentine’s Day cards were beautiful!

    Like

    Reply
  3. The cards are so beautiful.

    Like

    Reply
  4. How is it you have these cards, Laura? Are you a collector? And I’ve tried and tried to read that bottom card in the first photo and still can’t make out the first word. What is it?

    Like

    Reply
    • They belong to a friend of mine. She brought the album here a few years back and hasn’t come to collect them. I the meantime I get to enjoy them 🙂 I think they were originally delivered to my friend’s grandmother. The album also has post cards from Christmas, Easter, St. Patrick’s Day. Lovely. The notes on back of the cards have the most beautiful writing I’ve ever seen. Obviously the person used a fountain pen.

      The words are hard to read but say, “I greet thee Valentine.” I had to go look at the original.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. Thanks for sharing. I actually remember some like these from my early school days.
    Attended a meeting at the library a couple days ago. These antique cards of years past were on display in special cabinets. My lady friend and I enjoyed them and a walk down memory lane. ❤ ❤
    Happy Valentine's Day to you as well, Laura.<3

    Like

    Reply
    • They sure don’t make Valentines they way they used to. I wonder if some of these post cards didn’t come in sheets to be cut apart as it looks as though some aren’t perfectly straight. My husband just read the back of a Christmas post card from 1911 where the writer mentions they were having a green Christmas. Interesting. Now I want to read the rest of the cards, see what I can discover.

      Like

      Reply
  6. What a treasure!

    Like

    Reply
  7. I think that’s kind of neat, too. Thanks to your friend for allowing them to be included in your post. Love these little tidbits of Canadiana.

    Like

    Reply
  8. That really is neat! Love the postcards.

    Like

    Reply
  9. I love the vintage valentines. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 233 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • My Novels

    Coming April 2017

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 73,332 hits
