Finding Water

DSC07359After a long, cold winter most of us are anxious for Spring. It’s that time  of the year when the earth springs back to life.  (Hence the name–spring.) Original, don’t you think? From the bright yellow heads of dandelions pushing their way out of the grass (yes, I’m one of those people who actually like dandelion flowers) to mayflowers, trilliums, daffodils , new spring buds, and the emerging of leaves, things are about to get green. Very green.

Like any season, this one has had its ups and down. Fine weather, cold weather, windy weather, black flies and wood ticks. I hear people grumble about the ticks and the flies. And I’ll agree maybe they’re not my favorite part of Spring, but we don’t get to pick and chose. Kind of like taking the good and the not so good. Like it or lump it, it’s all part of life. I’m into acceptance, meaning I believe in accepting what life sends our way. It’s much more productive (not to mention peaceful) than trying to change things that can’t be changed…like black flies and ticks.

Yesterday, we found a duck’s nest in the middle of the tree lot. Nesting ducks amaze me, the way they’ll DSC07368go inland to lay their eggs without a body of water in sight. I’m not even sure where all these babies will have to waddle to( and through) to dip their little webbed feet. Let’s just say we’re talking a long ways, people. Imagine being a duck and taking your babies on such a journey. They can’t fly, so they’d have to dawdle those little feet of theirs for miles perhaps. The funny thing about ducks is they don’t look at the challenge ahead as impossible, they just take what’s ahead of them and do the work that’s asked. They find water.

Seriously, there’s something so enchanting about finding a nest with eggs inside, such a marvel. Magic isn’t just something that’s pulled from a magician’s hat. It’s everywhere. Even on the days when we’re sure there’s nothing at all to marvel over. But you’ve got to look, and you’ve got to pay attention because it’s out there. All around us.

This Spring I’ve been working on a story I started about seven years ago. I’ve picked at it from time to time, trying to capture the story the way it appears in my mind’s eye. And I think I’m getting there. I might not be the fastest writer on the block, but I get there sooner or later.

So as we journey through Spring and life, I hope we’ll all remember to be like that duck with her babies. Just keep your heads down and keep plugging along. Eventually, you’ll find water.

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

18 Comments

  1. I love the duck analogy. Spring is wonderful We just returned from a trip to Holland where we visited the tulip gardens. So amazing. Enjoy this refreshing time of the year and good luck with the story.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Spring in Ontario has been indecisive and tardy this year. Flowers and trees burst forth to meet the sun in haste–overnight it seems. It’s finally warming up and this week temperatures promise double digits.
    Wish you well in your current manuscript, Laura. Good to see you.

    Like

    Reply
  3. What a wonderful analogy, Laura. Just what I needed to read today. I wish you every success (and, I hope, some fun along the way) as you work on your new/old story. I guess the time just had to be right for you to revisit those words. I’m in the process of going through some of my old, uncompleted stories now. It’s fun to see where my imagination took me over the years. Maybe I’ll find one that demands to be finished, too!

    Like

    Reply
    • I’m the kind of writer that needs to be in the right space to write. I discovered that many years ago. I always had several short stories on the go, some for a very long time. But when everything felt right, I’d pick up a story where I left it and finish it. For some reason, I thought it would be different when I started writing novels. Guess not.

      My thoughts have been with you lately and I find your uplifting attitude during this time, very inspiring. Wishing you all the best!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. In the fall I always say fall is my favourite season, but every spring I’m blown away with the vivid new colours. After winter I think my spirit is so tired of everything dark and bleak that the newness of spring — colours, leaves and ducklings, too — almost overwhelms.

    Best of luck finishing your story in this new season!

    Like

    Reply
    • I love fall, too, Carol! So many memories from my childhood attached to that season. Spring always makes me feel happy and ready to dig into life. So many wonderful signs of new life around us.

      Like

      Reply
  5. Love those ducks and their dogged persistence – nicely put, my (little) friend:)

    Like

    Reply
  6. One of my favourites of your pieces so far. Thank you. I agree about the flies and the ticks and the dandelions, and, of course, I love the ducks.

    Like

    Reply
  7. It really is something special about finding a nest of eggs. When we were walking Relay for Life last year there was a bird that kept chasing and squawking at people and I feared she might have eggs close by. She had eggs right on the track; they were speckled and appeared to be small gravels is one wasn’t looking for them. I was afraid to move them, but before we could set something up to veer people around her someone stepped on them.

    Like

    Reply
    • I’m sure many nests get stepped on. A lot of birds do nest on the ground. a shame, really. We found a few robin’s nests the last few days as well. I love the color or their eggs.Makes me feel happy! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  8. I agree 100%. Magic is everywhere. You are a special person, Laura, for Mother Duck to lay her eggs nearby. I hope Miss Charolette gets to see it.

    Like

    Reply
  9. Judi

     /  May 18, 2016

    I loved your story. But I really feel sorry for the poor bird that got her eggs stepped on in the Relay for Life. Hugs..

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 230 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • My Novels

    Coming April 2017

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 72,965 hits
