Stepping Back in Time

Yesterday, I took a step back in time, just like the advertisements told me too. (Hey, I’m easily persuaded. What can I say? 😉 )This year marks New Ross’ 200th Anniversary and that’s something to be celebrated. What’s my connection to New Ross? New Ross is actually my next door neighbour and I have lots of friends, and some family, living there. I love this little community and the people in it. It even got a mention in my last book!

Since I’m a supporting-local-kind of gal, I couldn’t imagine not being at the parade. Coincidentally, I’d heard a few stories about the 100th parade from my friend Oran. I wrote a blog post about her awhile back because she was such an amazing person.  If you didn’t already read it you can by clicking this link HERE. I wish now I’d asked her more about the celebration in 1916.

Here are a few highlights from the parade. Keep in mind that New Ross is a community that relies on the agriculture and forestry industry and this was certainly reflected in yesterday’s parade entries.

You can’t have a parade without a marching band. Well, you can but…..

DSC07662The New Ross Historic Society had a float in the parade with people decked out in period costumes.

DSC07674Nothing says rural Nova Scotia like the 4-H club. I’m pretty sure most everyone in New Ross belonged to 4-H sometime during their youth.

DSC07677

The Christmas Tree Industry was well represented. J& M Reeves Christmas Greens. Hey, there’s Jeanette, Matthew, Rylie, Barb, Gracie and I think I see John’s arm in the background. Hmm sitting down on the job, I see.  😉

DSC07680

The Christmas Tree Festival. An entire weekend in December to celebrate this industry that is so important to this area. If you drive through New Ross during the festival you’ll see these carolers everywhere.

DSC07690

 

The logging industry was well represented with floats from Murray A. Reeves Forestry Ltd. and Colin Hughes Enterprises Ltd.

DSC07697

DSC07707

The final float I’m posting was from Gina’s Hairstyling . It was one of my favourites. Even had a barbershop quartet singing.

DSC07692

So there are a few highlights of the parade as I saw it. I couldn’t possibly post photos of all the floats in the parade, but for those of you who are not familiar with New Ross perhaps this will give you a small glimpse into the culture and lives of those living in this small community that was first settled in 1816. Congratulations New Ross for continuing with the traditions of rural Nova Scotia.

If you took in the parade yesterday, what was your favourite part?And  have you ever been in a parade?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I love these rural community parades. A two-hundred-year-old community is certainly something to celebrate. I walked beside the baton twirlers when my daughter was in the Medicine Hat, Stampede parade.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Yes 200 years is quite the something and, actually, East Dalhousie will be 200 next year. No special celebrations planned so far as I know. 😦 But at least I’ll be able to say I had a book launch the year we turned 200! Maybe that’s a good sign. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 237 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • My Novels

    Coming April 2017

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 75,143 hits
