Edits and Relish and Leaves

I’m interrupting my edits to give you zucchini relish…

DSC07839

This is one of two batches I made over the weekend as well as dill pickles. Sorry, no photo of the pickles. Hubby already took them to the basement.  He’s so efficient that way.  😉

And coloured leaves…

DSC07838

We’ve been seeing leaves of various colours along the roadside. It’s only the middle of August. What’s up with that?

Okay, so I’m on a tight schedule here with the edits but sometimes you’ve got to live life. Do I need to be writing a blog post. Nope. But I am just the same. Why? Because I feel like it.

Yesterday, we went to a 50th Anniversary party for friends of ours. I snapped the leaf photo on the way home, ground up the veggies for relish to sit overnight, and took a dive into the edits. This morning I cooked the relish and sealed them in jars with the help of Hubby who’s pretty helpful in that department.  As I said, my schedule is tight, what with working five days a week and making pickles and relish, but a part of me likes having a date looming over me. It makes me determined to get things the way I want them. I love working on edits and my editor has asked some challenging questions about the the story. I’ll have to turn to my mum to clarify some things about the Halifax School For the Blind because she’s my expert in that department. It’s great having an inside source.

Okay, so time to get back into the edits. When things slow down, I’ll let you know a bit more about the book. Maybe even give you a peek at the cover. Gotta go. Wish me luck!

 

Next Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Good luck with those edits. I find a bit of distraction helps me. So if making pickles works, so be it! Can´t wait to see the cover.

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks, Darlene. Edits can sometimes be a bit overwhelming as I try to sort through all the comments from my editor and wonder just how I’m going to go about it. Distractions are sometimes a necessity!

      Like

      Reply
  2. You’ve been busy.
    The leaves are looking pretty there!

    Like

    Reply
    • Yes, they’re pretty but far too early. Nice that we finally got a little rain on the weekend and more rain coming Wednesday. We need it! Thanks for visiting, Susan!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. What I don’t understand is what do you do with all your free time? Don says he’s going to make dill pickles this year – he may have to get a lesson from you first…

    Like

    Reply
    • If he’s serious, I have an excellent recipe that is SUPER easy. Just let me know! Spare time comes when the babies are here!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 232 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • My Novels

    Coming April 2017

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 72,673 hits
