Cammie Takes Flight: One Step Closer

“You’ve signed a contract months ago so what’s taking SOOO long?”

As a writer with a new- to- be published book I get asked that a lot, which I suppose isn’t a bad thing. Means there’s interest, right?

A published book comes about in baby steps. This is once the book has been written (not to mention all those hours of thinking and plotting, writing and revising, a writer does before it’s even sent it off to a publisher.)

While each of these steps might be little over time they begin to add up.

Here’s where the books is now:

As I mentioned in an earlier post, the aim for “Cammie Takes Flight” (Yes, that’s the name we’re sticking with!) is to have the Advanced Reading Copies or ARCs  ready to be sent out in early winter. These go to reviewers etc. before the book is actually released. At this point I’ve already made revisions to the manuscript plus a few rounds of edits, smoothing out the wrinkles and straightening out any problems with the plot, etc.

Late this week, I received the design ARC galleys. This shows me what the interior of the book will look like, such as what fonts have been used and the little birds at the start of each chapter that I absolutely love! So with the file now created, the words, fonts and birds all in place you might think we’re all set to go, right?

But wait.

I still have some tweaking to do.

Crazy, isn’t it?

Not really. I’ve got a bit more work to do to the galleys, plus a decision to make, before the ARCs are ready to go to print.

Okay, so there’s no cover yet. Sorry. But trust me on this, there will be a cover before it goes to print. I mean, whoever heard of a book with no covers, right?

So once the ARCs are printed that’s it, right?

Wrong.

Believe it or not I’ll have the opportunity to make slight changes before it goes to the final print which should be late February, ready for the book’s release in April. Yay, it will finally be a book!

Whew!

So, the important thing is the book is getting closer to publication. Baby steps, but it’ll get there. I promise. And one of these days, very soon, I’ll have a cover reveal on my blog.

It’s all very exciting each time a writer brings a new book into the world. It’s our way of sharing what we’ve created with the rest of the world. Well, at least with our readers. 😉

That’s it for now. I hope you’re having an enjoyable fall and that you’re making steps towards  completing your own project whatever that might be.

Leave a comment

19 Comments

  1. It is crazy how long it takes until publication! By the time the book is published I am usually more than halfway finished the next one. I have to keep skipping back and forth. Every now and then I have to remind myself where Amanda actually is. Your next book will be fabulous when it is published. All the hard work pays off!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Hope you find all those typos that always seem to get overlooked pre-publication:) See you at 9:00!

    Like

    Reply
    • Amazing, isn’t it, how you see these things afterward even with all the proofreading that gets done? Looking forward to seeing you!

      Like

      Reply
  3. Elayne Mott

     /  October 15, 2016

    Can hardly wait….M.B.F. & I are almost falling off the edges of our seats waiting for this new book.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Are there proof-reading gremlins whose focus in life is to make you feel blind to punctuation and typos?
    Congratulations. Sending chocolate and super vim. 😀

    Like

    Reply
  5. Laura, you know I am excited to read this book. I’m so looking forward to reading about Cammie’s next adventures in life. You’ve got a good thing going there. Congratulations!

    Like

    Reply
  6. I am so glad I finally found you. Computer issues. Lost my blogroll and I’m still trying to find everyone. So happy for your success, Laura. Your book is on my list and will be read and reviewed as soon as I get a new macbook.

    Like

    Reply
  7. Hi Laura. How a book is developed from one stage to the next is very interesting. What a pile of work and patience you must have! Congrats on Cammie Takes Flight. April is just around the corner!

    Like

    Reply
    • Thanks, Laura! It’s always exciting when a new book comes into the world. It takes so many years for it all to come together. In the end, it’s always worth it! Thanks for dropping in. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
  8. End of February now. Seems like time does fly

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 237 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • My Novels

    Coming April 2017

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 74,965 hits
