The Journey

I’ve been thinking a lot about the “journey” these past few days, that path we’re all on, and how different that journey is for each of us. Life isn’t just about the end result, but the journey; all those twists and turns along the way. It’s about the deeds we do (the good AND the bad), the mistakes we make, the people in our lives, the love we give and receive. It’s not about things or money. It’s not about perfection. Because truthfully, “perfection” is really a matter of personal taste. What is perfect, but a notion, an ideal that varies with individual taste. It’s like the reader who hates a book you loved and loves a book you hated. Who’s right?

I don’t think there is a right.

Recently, I asked my Facebook friends if they allowed their kids to help decorate the Christmas tree. It was a subject that got brought up at work that day and I was curious. I was surprised by how many said they didn’t– apparently because they felt the kids wouldn’t (I wanted to say “couldn’t” here but if you never let them try how would you know? ) do a good enough job at decorating.

Good enough..wow!

Good enough for what?

For who?

I’m curious.

As a child I always helped decorate our Christmas tree. It was a highlight of Christmas. I even remember some of my favourite ornaments. When my kids were old enough I couldn’t imagine them not helping because seriously, it wasn’t about the tree or how “perfect” it needed to be. It was about doing something together, having fun, sharing some laughs, building memories.

I’m not saying that all those Facebook friends are wrong. If having a “perfect” tree is that important to you than by all means you should keep the kids as far away from the tree as humanly possible. 😉
I don’t believe in the right or wrong way to do things. We all live life differently. We all have different values, different beliefs. We all do things differently. Thank goodness for that!

I’m not going to ask here if you let your kids decorate your Christmas tree. I just want to leave you with the thought that sometimes the end result isn’t as important as we believe it to be. Sometimes the important part is the experiences and people we encounter along the way.

Lately, my own journey has kept me away from blogging but I’m hoping with the new year coming , and my busy season now at an end, that will change. I try not to dwell on the fact that I’ve been absent here for quite some time because it really wouldn’t help change anything. I can tell you I’ve been working on a new book with no plans on when it will be finished. I don’t often impose unrealistic deadlines on my time. I’m just hopeful it won’t take me a few years to come to the end.

Here’s hoping you enjoy your journey this week.

Next Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Yup, it’s the connections we make along the journey that really count. Hope you’ll have more time to slow down and enjoy the journey in the next few months:)

    Like

    Reply
  2. Lavender

     /  December 8, 2016

    Hi Laura,

    I needed to read this….so much is going on in our family of journeys these past months that it is hard to catch up on ones ‘real’ lives. I hear where you are coming from on the twist and turns. I had to tell my mother-in-law (after she said…maybe we will see him tonight ) that he (Steven their son) spent like 3 hrs with you two and had a good chat and tonight he needs to spend some time with his wife. She didn’t say anything. I feel she is trying to get him back…calls him her ‘little boy’ all the time. lol Anyway…loved hearing from you. I tried to reply within your page but it wouldn’t let me. I don’t have ‘word press’ on my computer but was able to open it to read. Can’t wait to read your next book. Did I miss something….you still only have the two books…right? I thought I read you were putting something out soon and it was with the publishers…like I said…did I miss something? lol Lv, Ericka

    Like

    Reply
    • Hi Ericka! Your comment just needed to be moderated by me since it’s the first time you’ve commented on my blog with your email. From now on it should post immediately.

      I’m sorry to hear that your journey is taken you through a rough patch, but hopefully that won’t last long.

      And my next book is due to be released at the end of April. I hope you’ll make it to my launch this time and not get side-tracked. 😉 So, a few more months to go!

      Like

      Reply
  3. glad I stopped in to read this. I really enjoyed reading this Laura. Am trying to find what is best way to be part of blogging community this next year

    Like

    Reply
    • I’m glad you stopped in too, Joss! Coincidentally, I tried to get to your blog a few times yesterday, but my connection was so slow and it just wouldn’t co-operate. Are you sure you don’t have esp? I think this has happened in the past as well. I hope all is well with you. I noticed you hadn’t been blogging very frequently but that seems to be with many of us. Sometimes, we all need a break. Are you back in NS?

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      • hmmmm, a big maybe on the esp! I am in Ecuador. One year in and loving it. I try to post daily on my jossburnelblog which is a place of prayers, blessings and inspiration.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  4. It truly is all about the journey…the love, the connections, and the lessons. And our attitude of the journey is also important.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 236 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • My Novels

    Coming April 2017

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 74,190 hits
