Tea for Two

Recently, I had tea with a friend for no other reason than to spend time in each other’s company. It had been many months since we got together to share a cup and have a talk. We both lead busy lives but don’t we all? I mean, how many times can we use that excuse?

We collectively gripe about the way we never seem to have time to spend with our friends and family but then do nothing to remedy the situation because we’re JUST TOO BUSY. Friendships requires something from us. You can’t declare yourself someone’s friend if you never communicate anymore that a “like” on their Facebook status. Messaging back and forth on Facebook, or even email, is quick and convenient but these exchanges can’t replace that one on one time you experience with a real live person sitting across from you. While technology is a wonderful thing it can’t show us facial expression or the tone in someone’s voice, even body language–all the other ways we have of communicating without the use of words. Don’t get me wrong, no one loves words more than I do. I’m just not sure that everything can be conveyed by words alone….especially the words that come over email and social media. I’m a people person even though my life often requires me to seek solitude and a quiet place to write. Sometimes I just need to talk and listen.

I love listening to the way people speak, how they communicate in their own unique way. Some people have such a distinctive way of expressing themselves that I find intriguing. Of course that’s the writer in me speaking. It’s hard to shut that part of myself off.

I’m looking forward to reconnecting with some of my friends in the new year that I haven’t seen for SO long, to find out what’s going on in their lives and let them know what’s new in mine. I’m looking forward to seeing their smiling faces and hearing their voices, sharing some laughs, maybe being silly. ….I’m good at being silly. What better thing is there than to laugh and be silly from time to time?

Before I go I want to let you know about a giveaway on Lynn Davidson’s blog. It’s for an Amazon gift card. This link HERE will take you directly to the post. Just leave a comment. It’s pretty simple.

Draw date is December 20th so don’t delay!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. nothing better than a cuppa with a friend to do a catch up…

    Like

    Reply
  2. Social media has become an unfortunate substitute for life! But I have to admit that I’ve always been a loner and it takes effort for me to get out and socialize in person, even with good friends.

    Like

    Reply
    • It’s exactly that, Carol, “an unfortunate substitute for life.” I do appreciate my “alone” time. I’m rarely alone because of work etc but I’m good at blocking out others when I need to get some writing done. 😉

      Like

      Reply
  3. Judi

     /  December 14, 2016

    I’m like you, Laura, it is hard, you almost have to force yourself to say O.K. let’s call so and so and ask them to come and visit for an evening or just a cup of tea. But once you do it you really enjoy the company of a friend or a neighbour. Visiting is a lost art with these days of technology and the busy lives that everyone seems to lead. It’s really sad that you have to force yourself to go visiting. Years ago I remember sitting with Mom & Dad and one or the other would say, “Let’s go for a drive and visit Charlie & Pearle or Amy & Quint, or let’s go across the road and have a game of cards. But that doesn’t happen any more. I think it’s really, really, SAD. We should do it more often. xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. I so agree. I just returned from almost a month in Canada, promoting my book but also visiting with friends and family in three cities. It was so wonderful to sit and chat with all those dear folks. Social media has made this move possible but the face to face interaction was special.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • I’m sure you family and friends loved having you with them for a month.It sounds like you had a great time promoting your new Amanda book. They kept you busy! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. I feel lucky to count myself among those you do see quasi-regularly – for lo-o-ong cups of coffee. Maybe we’ll get our names engraved on those chairs at Vittles some day:)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • I look forward to our coffee dates and I think that’s a great idea to engrave the chairs although they seem to keep changing them. 😉

      Like

      Reply
  6. I consider the people I only connect with on social media to be acquaintances. My friends are the ones I connect with in person, and phone conversations and texts. I’m not the type of person who enjoys socializing a lot, but I do greatly enjoy time with my friends. So glad you got the chance to catch up with your friend.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • I find it challenging to get together with friends what with work that sometimes has me working long hours and family, of course, comes first. Spending time with my grandbabies is a top priority. Hoping to see them this weekend as a matter of fact!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 237 other followers

  • Follow Laura Best on WordPress.com
  • My Novels

    Coming April 2017

  • Laura Best

  • Blog Stats

    • 75,143 hits
